Tinker Time Treehouse - Neo-M8N GPS Upgrade and other DIY Solo Projects

Reaction score
Hey gang!
Me again... and I decided to make a video showing the basic installation of the mRobotics Neo-M8N GPS chip. I'm replacing my Rev A / Original GPS in the Solo. I have previously installed the V2 GPS Shield and you will see it here. Also: part way through this installation I realized that the V2 GPS Shield needed a little modification to fit properly over the M8N and you can see where/how I've cut mine to fit snugly. Some folks have said that the M8N doesn't need shielding but I hope that it can't hurt :)

I'm calling the series Tinker Time Treehouse because I'm by no means an expert, and I have other projects to post in the coming weeks/days. I have one about oiling the motor pods, one for prop balancing, this GPS mod and I will be making a few about installation of a number of Relish 3D mod parts.

I hope you all enjoy! As always I appreciate input and constructive criticism. The whole reason for posting on youtube and here is to keep the discussion open and to foster the community. Without further ado :

Tinker Time Treehouse - Neo-M8N GPS Modification (plug and play) for 3DR Solo:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Reactions: 3dRich007
Hey gang!
Me again... and I decided to make a video showing the basic installation of the mRobotics Neo-M8N GPS chip. I'm replacing my Rev A / Original GPS in the Solo. I have previously installed the V2 GPS Shield and you will see it here. Also: part way through this installation I realized that the V2 GPS Shield needed a little modification to fit properly over the M8N and you can see where/how I've cut mine to fit snugly. Some folks have said that the M8N doesn't need shielding but I hope that it can't hurt :)