Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. genie4x4

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok guys, here's something we were discussing today on another forum. Using a different camera and sending the commands down wifi. The git2 camera can be set up to log into a network. The problem seems to be the ap is in the controller so if the solo and camera are both connecting to it, they could cause wifi interference to each other and the camera won't have the wifi range of the solo to talk to controller. My idea is fitting a small USB style wifi repeater to the solo that both camera and solo talk to and it transmits to the controller. Would this work?
     
  2. Mkennemer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsvile alabama
    just a question or suggestion
    WHY NOT BOOSTING? I know it is an old topic but cheap. I get 18,000 feet straight and through trees is a breeze,4w 2.4g boosters ,plus microtics in con and solo. I know the controller is a little heavy but if you want punch and distance 4 miles isn't bad. I fly over my personal land were no one can be harmed.
     
  3. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    Mostly because the vast majority of us, I'm guessing, don't have personal land where no one would be harmed. We're concerned about obeying the FCC's rules on EIRP. Some of us are licensed with the FAA and blatantly flouting the FCC seems unlikely to be looked upon favorably. Lastly, I'm not at all sure the OP or the post above you would be served by this approach.
     
  4. Mkennemer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsvile alabama
    EIRP IS 4W IS FAA FCC compliant in U.S ! ....MAX BUT COMP right ?.
    that it the max and you don't have to boost at 4w they have sunys that are very low to 4w, I can fly 18,000 I don't flaunt or try to boast its family land I didn't buy it .
    boosting is a cheap and easy way to get punch through trees .I believe this is safer for your FAA FCC compliant people STRONGER MORE RELIABLE SIGNAL . that's all I mean. I was just showing how far you can go on simple cheap money. And I was just asking . I was not at all arrogant or ill on approach, I just wonder why more don't boost ?
     
  5. Mkennemer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsvile alabama
    did I offend you or OP?
     
  6. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    Didn't offend me. I was simply answering the question as I saw it asked.

    FWIW, I read 4W boost as being added to the already 800mW output of the Microtik card, for a total EIRP of ~4.8W. That's the only reason I spoke about flouting the FCC. But maybe I misunderstood your premise.

    And as the 18k/4 miles thing goes, that is just plain illegal until we get either BVLOS rules or waivers start issuing. For now, just plain illegal in my reading. But, you know what is said of opinions...

    :D
     
  7. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Because in this particular instance I am taking a networking approach to getting more range.
    Simply being able to get the Solo to associate to a different SSID than the same one that the TX and app are using opens some really cool possibilities
    for me that include other options beyond "more range from the TX" and are beyond the scope of what I am asking or trying to figure out on this thread.

    I need to have the Solo associate to one of our outdoor towertop access points... which by other means has an IP connection back to the TX app and ground station.

    All I really need is better understanding of the config files and have a way for them not to be automatically over written by itself or the solo app or whatever the heck is going on.
     
  8. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    I haven't forgotten, by the way. Just only have so much free time. ;)
     
  9. Mkennemer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsvile alabama
     
  10. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    I *think* part of the problem is that the system is set up to check the md5sum of the hostapd.conf file, and if it doesn't match, to revert it back using hostapd.orig....which is also checked.

    Still casting about...
     
  11. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    From /etc/init.d/configinit

    #Manual modification of a configuration file (e.g. via console or ssh):
    # 1.edit file.conf
    # 2.md5sum <full-path-to-file.conf> <full-path-to-file.conf.md5>
     
    n8lbv likes this.
  12. CroquettRocket

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Qu├ębec, Canada
    Well, Your project is indeed very specific. I understand your need to connect Solo as the Client to your Ubiquity access point. And you would like for your Solo to roam between your different AP on your landscape I guess.
    One (yes, I will only start with that first) of my concerns is : I am pretty sure Solo don't have advanced feature such as 802.11k, v & r. Those protocols make your roaming FAST and transparent IF your Access Point does have those feature enabled. So, if your Solo choose to connect to another AP (BSSID), even if it is the same Network (SSID), your client (SOLO) might experienced a short disconnection. And what happens if Solo get disconnected from his controller? Rewind or Go Back Home.

    It's an opinion from a WiFi RF Engineer.

    I will continue to follow up your adventure ;)
     
  13. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Same here ion the free time thing I just got back from a work trip and have (you guesed it) more work to do before I can play with the Solo!
    I see there are a couple posts here while I was gone (AWESOME!)
    I'll go have a look!
     
  14. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oh I'll have to try that!!!
    Interesting!
     
  15. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    No offense here.
     
  16. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm ok with the disconnects and re-association delays.
    Fast roaming would be cool but I don't need that.
    It can be configured *not* to return home on the disconnects.
    The return to home can also be canceled once a new association is established.
    We are getting beyond the scope of the original question here but it is great conversation and those may be future items for sure.
    Right now I just need control of the config files :) to be able to actually get a start on that adventure.
     
  17. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    Do let me know how it turns out, please.