Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm going to try this and there is no reason it should not work really well
    It *should work great.

    Stock TX and Solo.

    My ground station will consist of

    * Good battery power for a day
    * 2 Ubiquity or similar 2.4GHz Wifi POE devices setup as AP and client with directional antennas.
    * wired network switch.

    Like these: Ubiquiti Networks - NanoStation® M
    *in wifi mode*

    Or: ENH202 Outdoor Wireless Bridge | EnGenius


    I'll hook them back to back over wired ethernet or hook them into a wired switch.

    One device will be setup as a client bridge and associated/connected to the solo tx.
    The other will be setup as an access point and use the same SSID as the TX.

    So there will be TWO access points that the solo can connect to- the solo TX and the bridged
    secondary AP.

    Secondary AP can be put on another RF channel or kept on the same.

    Client bridge device can be MAC locked so it will only connect to the Solo TX and not connect to the other AP

    When the solo gets out of range of the Solo TX with stock antennas it will still be able to connect to (if it is not already connected to) the ground station access point with the big directional antenna which is ethernet bridged/connected to the client bridge device which is connected to the the Solo TX wirelessly.

    Simple!!!! but also a bit confusing. LOL.
     
    #1 n8lbv, Jun 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2017
  2. hackbard23

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    38
    spock would say: fascinating :eek:
     
  3. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    What I don't know yet until I try is if the Solo is hard set to only connect to the MAC address of the Solo TX.
    Or if it it will roam / connect to another access point with the matching SSID.
     
  4. andrew.baker.142

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    I understand that Solo has a locked MAC address
    Why don't you just use directional antennas on your controller? Your solution seems way too complicated even if it worked.
     
    awicklund85 and Garrett263;! like this.
  5. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Because I'm a network guy I have the equipment and want to play :) So far I did get the Solo to associate/connect to another outdoor AP with the same SSID as the TX :)
     
  6. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    I'd be interested in your results. I want greater coverage distance, need to get above the trees.
     
  7. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm getting there...
    My initial try sorta worked but then failed when the DD-WRT client bridge connected back to the secondary AP
    I was for a few minutes had the solo associated to the secondary AP which is wire bridged to the DD-WRT client bridge (which was associated and connected to the TX.
    Soon as I turned off the TX the DD-WRT bridge connected to the secondary AP and started a cute little network broadcast storm. :)

    So I ssh'd into the Solo and tried to rename the SSID in it to another name so it would connect to secondary AP on a different SSID.
    I edited wpa_supplicant.conf which had the SSID in it and renamed it.
    Since then I lost it.. and will probably have to factory reset it and the controller to get it back.
    I must have edited the wrong file or something..

    To make matters even more fun I SSHed into the TX and edited hostap.conf where the SSID was to change it..
    After a reboot it came back up broadcasting something like SoloLink_4677
    NOT what I had tried to change the SSID to.
    So that didn't work either.

    And now the TX is going to need a reset apparently.
     
    #7 n8lbv, Jun 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2017
  8. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Factory reset everything got it all back connected and tried again.

    In Solo only file I can find that has my defined SSID is /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.
    It contains the "SoloLink_name" line that I configured in the solo app.
    It also has the WAP2 key on a line.
    If I manually change the line to something like "Sololink_name2"
    Then I never see it again it does not associate to an ap with an SSID of "Sololink_name2"
    Although before manually editing the file and sticking with the name set in the solo app "Sololink_name".
    If I bring up an access point with that SSID and WAP2key and turn on the solo WITHOUT the tx on the solo connects to the AP sending the proper SSID.

    On the TX the only file that contains my SSID is /etc/hostapd.conf

    It also has my SSID on it's own line "SoloLink_name and my wpa2 key on another line.

    If I manually change the SSID here in this file to "SoloLink_name2"
    on next restart of the TX it goes back to default "SoloLink" and wpa key is "sololink"

    Grrrrr......


    Irritating!!!

    How the heck can I manually change the SSID that the Solo is using as a client

    And Manually change the SSID the TX is using as an access point?

    Also for cosmetic purposes how do I get the "SoloLink_" out of the SSID and actually use a completely custom SSID?

    I'm able to quickly recover the Solo connection now by using the pairing switch on the solo.
    This sets the solo back to default SSID client configuration with original factory SSID and wpa2 password

    Simply editing the SSID line in /etc/hostapd.conf causes it to reset back to factory default SSID and password on TX restart.

    Grrrrrr WTF! :)
     
    #8 n8lbv, Jun 8, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2017
  9. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    There is some python involved in the wireless setup. Let me see if I can find something for you.
     
  10. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    :) Thanks!
     
  11. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    On SOLO try /etc/sololink.conf if you haven't already? Unfortunately I don't have a full image in front of me, just the python scripts
     
  12. mrreddog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Very interesting. Nothing to add but I'm very curious how far you can take this??
     
  13. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Will keep this updated. Ive not been back home to try editing sololink.conf yet. :)
     
  14. Greg Parker

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    108
    Considering the flight time of the Solo, what is the mission that requires significantly longer ranges than the Solo with a 3rd party antenna like FPVLR? My vision makes it very hard to see the Solo out at 3200', with the FPVLR I can go a little further but cannot maintain LOS.
     
  15. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    sololink.conf does not contain any SSID settings. as far as I can tell.

    sololink.conf:


    [solo]
    artooIp = 10.1.1.1
    soloIp = 10.1.1.10
    rcDestPort = 5005
    sysDestIp = %(artooIp)s
    sysDestPort = 5012
    pairReqDestPort = 5013
    pairResDestPort = 5014
    mavDestPort = 5015
    buttonEventPort = 5016
    buttonFunctionConfigDestPort = 5017
    setShotInfoDestPort = 5018
    updaterDestPort = 5019
    telemDestPort = 14550
    appServerPort = 5502
    appAddressFile = /var/run/solo_app.ip
    stm32Dev = /dev/ttymxc1
    stm32Baud = 115200
    telemDev = /dev/ttymxc1
    telemBaud = 921600
    telemFlow = True
    telemLogGap = 1000000
    telemLogDelayMax = 100000
    rcDsmDev = /dev/ttymxc2
    rcDsmBaud = 115200
    rcSourceIps = 10.1.1.1,127.0.0.1
    useGpsTime = True
    pwmInMinThrottle = 1000
    pwmInMaxThrottle = 2000
    pwmOutMinThrottle = 1000
    pwmOutMaxThrottle = 1900
    rcTimeoutUS = 400000
    uiUnits = metric

    [pairing]
    user_confirmation_timeout = 30.0
    controller_link_port = 5501
    wifi_connect_timeout = 5.0
    connect_request_interval = 1.0
    connect_ack_timeout = 0.5
    solo_address_file = /var/run/solo.ip
    button_filename = /dev/input/event0

    [net]
    ApEnable = False
    StationEnable = True

    [loggers]
    keys = root,stm32,pix,pair,net,app,tlm,shot

    [handlers]
    keys = consoleHandler,sysLogHandler,sysLog2Handler

    [formatters]
    keys = simpleFormatter,syslogFormatter

    [logger_root]
    level = INFO
    handlers = consoleHandler

    [logger_stm32]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = stm32
    propagate = 0

    [logger_pix]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = pix
    propagate = 0

    [logger_pair]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = pair
    propagate = 0

    [logger_net]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = net
    propagate = 0

    [logger_app]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = app
    propagate = 0

    [logger_tlm]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLogHandler
    qualname = tlm
    propagate = 0

    [logger_shot]
    level = INFO
    handlers = sysLog2Handler
    qualname = shot
    propagate = 0

    [handler_consoleHandler]
    class = StreamHandler
    level = ERROR
    formatter = simpleFormatter
    args = (sys.stdout,)

    [handler_sysLogHandler]
    class = handlers.SysLogHandler
    level = DEBUG
    formatter = syslogFormatter
    args = ("/dev/log", handlers.SysLogHandler.LOG_LOCAL1)

    [handler_sysLog2Handler]
    class = handlers.SysLogHandler
    level = DEBUG
    formatter = syslogFormatter
    args = ("/dev/log", handlers.SysLogHandler.LOG_LOCAL2)

    [formatter_simpleFormatter]
    format = %(asctime)s %(name)-4s %(levelname)-8s %(message)s
    datefmt =

    [formatter_syslogFormatter]
    format = %(name)s: %(message)s
    datefmt =

    [video]
    videoMinFR = 24
    videoMaxFR = 24
    videoMinBR = 800000
    videoMaxBR = 1800000
    videoFRStep = 5
    videoBRStep = 100000
    varStreamRes = True
    cropRecordRes = True
     
  16. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    The mission is not to necessarily fly further than an antenna like FPVLR.
    The mission is to to fly off another AP that has longer range and is bridged and routed to another network.
    There are a number of other reason for me to make this work beyond the scope of this post.

    Right now if I could ONLY get the SOLO to be programmed to use a different SSID than the TX it will actually work.
     
  17. rmasci

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instead of being in AP mode, DD-WRT can be in repeater mode, and you also have the ability to tweak and boost the up the signal on the DD-WRT. The extra power from the DD-WRT might give you more range even though the AP and repeater are right next to each other. I'd like to find out what is in the Solo controller to figure out if you can do some linux tricks to boost the signal. 'iwconfig wlan0 txpower 30' I've ssh'ed into the controller and iwconfig isn't being used.
     
  18. just_bruce

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    I'm away from my SOLOs, but I have to pull the SDCard for an image next week, so I should be in front of the whole file system then. Sorry can't help sooner.
     
  19. hackbard23

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    38
    if you have fast internet connection:

    Solo SD Card Image
     
  20. n8lbv

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    No rush got really busy at work.
    I'll mess with it more this weekend.
    Just getting the solo configured to associate to a different SSID and not to the SSID that is on the TX will open up a lot of cool possibilities!!
    It could also be done in reverse (change the SSID on the TX while leaving the Solo configured for the OLD SSID

    I also started investigating trying to MAC Lock the solo or the other client devices to associate to a BSSID (MAC) instead of the SSID
    But got a bit lost on that as PWA2 PSK somehow uses the SSID and /or BSSID as part of the keygen so it gets complicated really fast.
    And that probably is not the way to go.