Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. SteveReno

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    856
    Location:
    'Sparkling City by the Sea"
    poponx likes this.
  2. KDan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Central PA
    OK, back to the problem. It seems that maybe Solex is not resetting or initializing the WiFi connection between the controller and Solo if it is dropped or briefly turned off. It has nothing to do with "shit" WiFi hardware because it always reconnects instantly with the 3DR Solo app running on the same device. The behavior of Solex and the 3DR Solo app is completely different under these conditions.
     
  3. AOtarolaR

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok... i know that most of the modes are kind of "selfexplanatory", but i think they need a little more info on it...
    is there more explicit info on each mode?
    thanks

    upload_2017-6-26_15-4-59.png
     
  4. andrew.baker.142

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    Go to the Arducopter website. It has all the info on the base firmware you could want. Sorry I don't have the link, I'm on my phone.
     
  5. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    99
    Anyone else experiencing problems when switching to photo mode and then going back to video ? Last time I ttried this it could not recover video. And then the app crashed.

    Would be nice if solex prompted you to select which battery is installed. Sometimes I forget to select it. When the app crashes I wonder if it keeps any flight time data for the battery that was selected. Again where do we report issues and feature requests? Is there an official spot?
     
    RDA likes this.
  6. skylane

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having trouble getting the Solo to follow me using the "Follow Me" smart shot in Solex. The manual says this:

    "Follow/Me works just like the Follow Me shot in the standard app. It follows the GPS location on your device, in case you prefer for your vehicle to follow you (vs a different person) around."

    What's happening is: I select follow me....activate the shot, then select leash with "Look at me" checked. Solo sits in one place, but does pan around to "look at me." what it does not do is actually follow me.

    As a test, I did a follow me in the 3DR app and it works just fine in leash mode.....it follows and looks at me just as it is supposed to.

    I'm wondering if I am doing something wrong or it is a bug??

    My Solo is stock other than the mRo M8N Release 2 I installed last year. I am running Solex on a Nexus 6P.

    Any help would be appreciated!
     
    RDA likes this.
  7. andrew.baker.142

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    You need to uncheck " Look at me", and it will follow you.
     
    skylane likes this.
  8. skylane

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I will try that. If that works...then it seems like it is slightly different than the stock "Follow Me," because the stock shot seems to follow and look at me when I have that checked.
     
  9. andrew.baker.142

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    Yes, it had me confused for a while too. I think this feature was intended to allow the operator to fly manually without having to worry about the camera pointing at the subject. I have not tried it but probably works wonderfully with Solex Target.
     
  10. RVgeeks

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    31
    Was just out today using my Solo w/Solex (on Galaxy Tab A 8") after not flying for a while. Tried using the "Orbit" mode, but could not for the life of me get it to actually start flying the orbit. Neither left/right "start" arrow would work. Tried rebooting everything and tried again. Same problem.

    Anyone else have a problem getting Orbit to actually start? Or am I just an idiot and don't know where to click to get the orbit orbiting? ;)
     
    RDA likes this.
  11. Alpine

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bad Berleburg, Germany
    Do you have adjusted the speed slider up?
     
  12. DreadPyrate Tony

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southerrn Colorado
    Hello! I just spotted this thread. Got some questions for ya'...
    First, did you attempt to side load the original Solo app first onto the moverio? How'd that go?
    Second, what's the hardware connection you're using? i.e rca adapter, yada yada...

    Thanx for any response!
    T
     
  13. RVgeeks

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hey Alpine,

    I had tried adjusting speed settings using Solex prior to that, but the sliders kept re-setting to their original positions and wouldn't retain my changes. Had to use the 3DR Solo app to make changes to vehicle settings like RTH Altitude, etc.

    But, no... I did not specifically adjust the speed slider as part of the Orbit at all. Actually... I don't recall SEEING one.

    I did read that there's an issue with setting the Orbit if the camera tilt is at too low of an angle... so that may have been the problem: the drone wasn't that high up in the air and I was looking to orbit a spot that might have been far enough that the camera tilt was too low. But I'm not sure if that issue would cause it to just not start the Orbit at all.

    I'll have to get back out with the drone and see if I can get it to work again.
     
  14. RVgeeks

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hey Tony... looks like you posted this in the wrong thread... no "side loading" going on here... and no moverios! ;)
     
  15. DreadPyrate Tony

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southerrn Colorado
    My bad! I thought I was replying to a thread explaining how the pilot loaded solex for a moverio bt300 FPV to be used with his solo. Did I muck it up somehow?
     
  16. RVgeeks

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    31
    No worries, Tony. Just wanted you to know that you post isn't going to be seen by anyone who can answer, since this thread is about a different topic. Might want to try reposting it.
     
    DreadPyrate Tony likes this.
  17. KingChaos

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well this does not work for me. Kinda. When setting it to 1 second it takes 5-6 photos in 10 seconds. When at 2 sec it takes 3-4 in 10 sec. GoPro 4 Silver
     
  18. SteveReno

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    856
    Location:
    'Sparkling City by the Sea"
    Kelly had several update since this post you are quoting from, But this sounds more like a Hardware problem. The GoPro
    Also, 3 or 4 to 5 or 6 images? since the image count it being inconsistent as you saying, it could be the SD card is not fast enough for the images.
    To start, set image setting to a very low quality setting.
     
  19. KingChaos

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    The GoPro it selv shoots photos with 0,5 sec interval with no problem. When it is connected to 3DR and settings in Solex is set to 1 sec intervall it takes BETWEEN 5 and 6 photos in 10 seconds. So lets say aprox 1 photo every 2 second when set to 1 photo ever 1 second. When set to 1 photo every 3 second it work find. So it seams to some kind if delay. Gonna refund solex and use standard app with timelaps video instead since that works just fine.
     
  20. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Loaded Solex a few days ago and I have been getting familiar with it on my back porch before I use it. The only problem I seem to have is the position of the Solo is not showing up on my map. It shows where my tablet is but not the solo. 20 sats good GPS fix. I'm using a Samsung Tab A with 7.0. No problems changing camera modes or anything else. Plan on a test flight in a few hours. Any ideas??