OpenSolo 4, compas calibration error

Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
7
Age
47
Hello to everyone, I need some help.

I upgraded my Solo to 4.0.1 without issue. Problems began with the compass calibration. I spent more hours trying in different locations but to no luck. Side pilot working fine but i get a gps glich message in the middle of the process and need to reboot Solo. In Solo App everything looks good but at the end it stops and I get fail message. With Open Solo 3.0 was 100% corect. LEvel calibration working fine. Do you have any suggestion how I can fix that?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
8
Age
48
Hi, what's the message your getting , are you doing this inside or out.
Make sure you don't even have a watch on. They say point north when doing it.
I found that when using Mission planner your would see a sphere and had to try and hit as many points as possible when doing your rotations.
If you don't hit all the virtual points you will fail.
But knowing the message would be a help....
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
7
Age
47
Hi, thanks for help.
I use Sidepilot with OpenSolo 4. I need to calibrate my compas but i get messages:
66. Vehicle 1 battery 1 is powering off
65. PreArm: Compass calibrated requires reboot
64. GPS Glitch cleared
63. GPS Glitch
62. PreArm: Compass calibrated requires reboot
61. PreArm: EKF3 Yaw inconsistent by 24 deg
60. PreArm: Compass calibrated requires reboot
59. PreArm: EKF3 Roll/Pitch inconsistent by 13 deg
58. GPS Glitch cleared
57. PreArm: GPS glitching
56. PreArm: Compass calibrated requires reboot
55. PreArm: DCM Yaw inconsistent by 20 deg
54. GPS Glitch
53. Mag(1) good orientation: 0 10.7
52. Mag(0) good orientation: 38 47.5
51. PreArm: Compass calibration running
50. EKF3 IMU0 is using GPS
49. EKF3 IMU1 is using GPS
48. EKF3 IMU0 origin set
47. EKF3 IMU1 origin set
46. u-blox 1 HW: 00080000 SW: EXT CORE 3.01 (107900)
45. PreArm: EKF starting GPS checks
44. PreArm: fence requires position
43. GPS: u-blox 1 saving config
42. CubeSolo 0020003C 33345118 32353634
41. ChibiOS: cb42c858
40. ArduCopter V4.0.1 (61f191de)
39. EKF3 IMU1 tilt alignment complete
38. EKF3 IMU0 tilt alignment complete
37. RCInput: decoding DSM Do

I never get message that operation wassuccessfully.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
2,575
According to those messages, the calibration was successful, and a reboot is required when the calibration completes successfully. The GPS glitches because your flipping the copter around during the calibration and is not a problem.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
8
Age
48
Are you doing this inside or outside? I find it works better when outside. But it does look like you get the Cal done and then your touching it after it has calibrated....
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
2,575
Doing it indoors would be bad. You will get bad calibrations indoors. There is too much magnetic interference indoors to get a good calibration.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Age
39
This is my two-cent contribution based on my experience with the GPS for solo. The leg compass just died for some reason after installing open solo 4.0.1 , so I decided to replace it with a GPS with a built-in compass. The 20 dollar GPS gets a lot of satellites, and the compass is also working. I have a video doing compass calibration with both compass workings if interested. I hope it helps someone.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
8
Age
48
Hi Juan, can you advise what model compass/GPS you used and your wiring config.
Thanks Andy
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Age
39
Hi Andy,
This is the one used, but I am certain any other will work. I did no change any configuration for the GPS. For the compass I used the settings for the HERE gps in mission planner. Just Google that.

I am at work now but I can send you the pinout later
Thanks
Juan

[CA$28.96 17% OFF]Flight Controller GPS with Protective Shell for PIX PX4 Pixhawk RC Parts from Toys Hobbies and Robot on banggood.com
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Age
39
Andy,

Compass

- Don't use the original leg compass red (VCC) and black (ground).

- Connect the GREEN (from GPS) to WHITE (leg compass cable). This is the SCL Cable

- Connect the BLACK ( from GPS)(Note: this not the ground cable from the GPS. The ground from the GPS does not have a plastic cover) to GREEN (leg compass cable). This is the SDA cable


GPS

- RED (form GPS) TO RED (Compass cable from SOLO gps) - This VCC cable

- Cable without rubber cover (from GPS) to Black ( Compass cable from SOLO gps) - This is ground cable

- The ORANGE (from GPS) to BROWN ( Compass cable form SOLO gps) this is RXD Cable

-The YELLOW ( from GPS) to YELLOW ( Compass cable form SOLO gps) this is TXD Cable

This is a great video you can watch for the GPS pinout.


Once you are all done reset all parameters, do the calibration including updating the parameter is mission planner with the HERE gps.

let me know how it goes.

Thanks
-Juan
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
8
Age
48
HI Juan, I'm using solex, so I assume compass update from P2P would cover the GPS install once it's an m8n type gps?
So I might not have to use MP.
Thanks for the great info and detailed reply.
Andy
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Age
39
The solo will recognize GPS with out any changes in parameters. The new parameters are for the orientation of the compass (same as HERE gps.)
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
84
Reaction score
8
Age
48
Hi Juan, I didn't get a chance to get the gps units yet. The weather has been bad here so that put a go slow on everything.....
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
119
Hello!

I am also having issues with compass calibration. and sidepilot/opensolo upgrade

1.Updated controller and solo to opensolo - with sidepilot both successful, the craft came as factory reset and ended in constant disco for 20+ mins so I powered down, now it plays guitar riff when it starts and flashes.

2.As I attempt to connect with side pilot it gives me a compass calibration error

3. bang it around a bit, including the leg, sometimes goes away. most of the time not.

Any attempts to calibrate in side pilot result in "you must connect to your drone first"

Before I upgraded I could see the gimbal feed, now I cannot (side pilot)

Before I replace the magnetometer I want to make sure Im not crazy and this is somewhat normal for people to go through?

I also upgraded the gps to a V1.1 m.Ro GPS unit that I got when the drone was relevant, seems to work better than the old one at collecting satellites though the magnetometer interruption kills the hunt.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
12,378
Messages
143,359
Members
14,414
Latest member
Coruptor