Learning to Fly

Reaction score
I got my Solo three days ago and have been slowly learning how to fly it. So far, it's been pretty easy. I just need to work on my cinematic sweeps and composition. I have no flying experience but I'm a landscape photographer. I need to get to the point where I'm worried less about flying and more about composition. Having a frozen lake (Minnetonka) here in Minnesota is helpful!

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Coming from video world to UAVs I can tell you. there is only one way to get to that point where you don't have to worry about flying.
Fly, and fly a lot, learn to fly manual learn to deal with emergencies
When all that is automatic, you are on the way

Reactions: Bob I.
Try 2.6k at 60 shots per second. You will not see landing gear or props. Slow down your speed and panning while filming. Nice views. Well done

Welcome to the forum! Looks great for first timer!
As others have said, practice, practice, practice. I bought a cheap Syma X5C, then X8C to learn and practice on. That way I could handle Solo if the automation failed.

Try 2.6k at 60 shots per second. You will not see landing gear or props. Slow down your speed and panning while filming. Nice views. Well done

Yeah my previous vids were done a those settings but I had to give 4K a go. I had just changed the default settings, mostly to get more altitude but yes, I need to slow down speed and panning to avoid props. I plan to get a narrower FOV lens from Peau.

Here's an earlier one, only my second flight.

Reactions: Maddog
Welcome to the forum, Bob. Nice job on your first two posted videos. I really liked the second one. Much smoother, and I liked the sunset over the lake.

Welcome to the forum, Bob. Nice job on your first two posted videos. I really liked the second one. Much smoother, and I liked the sunset over the lake.