Solo Cube (Pixhawk 2.0) modification for 5v PWM (safety, and ArduCopter compatibility)

Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
64
Age
46
put the firmware (ArduCopter-v3_3.5.4_Solo.px4) in the catalog /firmware,
rebooted the solo but the installation did not go, what did you do wrong?
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
64
Age
46
Yes sever/cut that trace correct..
It turned out, thanks for the help!

I stopped at the next, I do not understand why it is not installed?
Put the firmware (ArduCopter-v3_3.5.4_Solo.px4) in the catalog /firmware,
rebooted the solo but the installation did not go, what did you do wrong?
Waited a few minutes. May need to give a command to install?
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
64
Age
46
Or first make a reset or reinstall open solo? and after that try again to install ArduCopter-v3_3.5.4_Solo.px4?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
39
Hi,
i do have the same problem as Dmitry.
The firmware file is in the /firmware folder of the 5v modded and to OpenSolo upgraded Solo, but it stays there after reboot and does not get installed.
Can somebody wiser than me please elaborate on that fact?
How do i get it installed? Is there a special command i have to give?
Could the problem be the binary transfer mode of winscp?

thanks in advance
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
39
I found the problem:
If you download just the raw file from github it does work. :rolleyes:
Sometimes one should just take a look into the files one downloads...
Sorry for bothering you all. :cool:
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
64
Age
46
I found the problem:
If you download just the raw file from github it does work. :rolleyes:
Sometimes one should just take a look into the files one downloads...
Sorry for bothering you all. :cool:
which file exactly? this?
but I failed
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
39
I'm not sure what you're reading, but those installation packages haven't existed for a very long time.

The automatic installers in Solex will not work, since they will detect the stock cube and prohibit the installation. You will need to install firmware manually. Download it from here: OpenSolo/documentation. Right click the ArduCopter-v3_3.5.4_Solo.px4 file and save as to your PC. Then use WinSCP or whatever to drop it into the /firmware/ directory on the Solo. Reboot and let it install. You may need to reboot again if it doesn't complete after about 5 minutes. That happen on those older cubes sometimes.

After installation is complete and it reconnects, you will need to do a parameter reset and reboot. Level calibration and reboot. Compass calibration and reboot. And set all the various settings to your liking.
The bold part is not entirely correct.
If you rightclick on the "file" in the list, you download the whole webpage that shows some code, but you do want the whole code only.
if you left click on the "file" it shows this webpage. There you rightclick on ->RAW<- and save as to your PC. That downloads just the code, as you want it.
This file gets digested by the Solo Companion Board and updates the Pixhawk firmware.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
388
Reaction score
64
Age
46
The bold part is not entirely correct.
If you rightclick on the "file" in the list, you download the whole webpage that shows some code, but you do want the whole code only.
if you left click on the "file" it shows this webpage. There you rightclick on ->RAW<- and save as to your PC. That downloads just the code, as you want it.
This file gets digested by the Solo Companion Board and updates the Pixhawk firmware.
Will it be loaded correctly?
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
39
Yes that is another way to go, but you only need the ArduCopter-v3_3.5.4_Solo.px4 file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dmitry
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
31
I have the Opensolo 3.0 / Ardupilot 3.7-dev, but I have not yet made the modification to 5v. Can I do it without having to change anything in the firmware?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
386
Location
Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
Can I do it without having to change anything in the firmware?
Maybe you are referring to this post? Using 3.7-dev? Change BRD_OPTIONS to zero before next flight

Not sure if thats fixed yet so hit up Matt @Pedals2Paddles for an answer to that since no one is replying to your post..


If you have 3.7 dev installed, there is no need to do the 5 volt mod at all??

As per Matts destructions...
ArduCopter 3.7 Dev Testing

"Stock/Black Cube Users: This will be a huge upgrade for you. You are leaping 3+ years into the future of ArduPilot from the old circa 2015 modified ArduCopter 3.2. This is the first time the slew rate limiting code has been brought into ArduCopter master, and as such is the first time you can safely fly it in a stock/black cube Solo. You are the most important test users! "
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
11,991
Messages
140,341
Members
13,917
Latest member
KetoFitproduct