Solex app causing 3DR Solo to crash

Reaction score
Hi everyone Im new to this 3DRPilots and I really need help.

Today we completed a Here gps upgrade and green cube upgrade to 3 different Solos. After installing all of the firmware and making sure everything was up to date, we took the birds out for a test.

We only flew 2 of the 3 because the app changed flight modes by itself switching into loiter and RTL causing one of our drones to lose control resulting in us force landing in tall grass, and another we had total loss of control and the bird flew top speed into a tree and smashed into the pavement below.

Im sure its user error however we really need to figure this out ASAP so any help is appreciated.

Start out by giving more detail. Give a step-by-step of what you did, preferably in order. Then give a blow-by-blow of the 'crashes' or flights. Log files would probaby also be helpful. Dataflash is most useful, but T-logs might tell another story.

By the by, I doubt that Solex is the source of the problem. I could be wrong, but it seems very unlikely

Agreed, I've got 2 birds with the HERE GPS upgrade, both of them are green cubed and I use Solex to fly them. I've never had a single issue with them at all. I've certainly never had the app change flight modes by itself. Really do need more detail on this one.

I assure you the Solex app did not make any mode changes for you or otherwise on it's own. It just doesn't work like that and has no means to even do such a thing.

The solo will switch to RTL as its failsafe mode for loss of controller signal or low battery. It will also switch to RTL if you press the home button on the controller, or switch to it from the mode dropdown in the app.

okay so I am currently trying to download the flight logs and cant seem to open them with google drive, not sure what i need to download to view the files