Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. Jubalr

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,904
    Likes Received:
    1,709
    Here is the definition of the WPNAV settings. I have not tried to go in and set WP nav speed as I can usually find something suitable by using the slider:
    Waypoint Descent Speed Target (WPNAV_SPEED_DN)
    Defines the speed in cm/s which the aircraft will attempt to maintain while descending during a WP mission

    • Range: 0 500
    • Increment: 10
    • Units: cm/s
    Loiter Horizontal Maximum Speed (WPNAV_LOIT_SPEED)
    Defines the maximum speed in cm/s which the aircraft will travel horizontally while in loiter mode

    • Range: 0 2000
    • Increment: 50
    • Units: cm/s
    Waypoint Acceleration (WPNAV_ACCEL)
    Defines the horizontal acceleration in cm/s/s used during missions

    • Range: 50 500
    • Increment: 10
    • Units: cm/s/s
    Waypoint Vertical Acceleration (WPNAV_ACCEL_Z)
    Defines the vertical acceleration in cm/s/s used during missions

    • Range: 50 500
    • Increment: 10
    • Units: cm/s/s
     
    RichWest likes this.
  2. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    Just tested it. Looks like changing that slider to turtle actually changes BOTH WPNAV parameters. Setting to turtle sets WPNAV_SPEED and WPNAV_LOT_SPEED to 500. Wonder why they both change. Would like to see if the change speed slider in Tower affects one or the other or both. But that would require downloading params while Solo is executing a mission.
     
    #42 nuggetz, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  3. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    Right, maybe I didn't notice...a speed change, it was set to 2.0. I should upload the video of the short track race I witnessed from the ground. When it started I thought to look at the ground under to make sure no one was within the impact zone. Tower was only able to utter, waypoint, waypoint, waypoint....it was moving so fast. Live and learn.

    Interesting glitch in Tower WP Change_Speed. When you long-click on speed, you can edit the speed by typing a number. The glitch, 2.0 on the GUI side came up as 20 when typed. So you'd assume typing 10 would result in 1.0, not the case it ended up as 10.0 on the GUI side....
     
  4. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    Interesting. Well for me I would assume typing in 10 would give me 10 and not 1.0.

    Regarding the 2 parameters, after reading the descriptions again, I think WPNAV_LOIT_SPEED is a Maximum value. So maybe that explains why both change when fiddling with the performance slider in the Solo app.

    Waypoint Horizontal Speed Target (WPNAV_SPEED)
    Defines the speed in cm/s which the aircraft will attempt to maintain horizontally during a WP mission

    • Range: 0 2000
    • Increment: 50
    • Units: cm/s
    Loiter Horizontal Maximum Speed (WPNAV_LOIT_SPEED)
    Defines the maximum speed in cm/s which the aircraft will travel horizontally while in loiter mode

    • Range: 0 2000
    • Increment: 50
    • Units: cm/s
     
  5. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    Within Tower or Solo App?
     
  6. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    I just tested this in Tower Beta 3.2.1 beta 1 and it doesn't happen there. You're allowed to enter decimals and they round up to the correct number. Still cant enter something like 2.7.
     
    #46 nuggetz, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  7. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    Good to know...beta is corrected.

    I'm on the Tower 3.2.0 and it still doesn't allow decimal input when typed...look forward to RC with improvements...noted.
     
  8. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,318
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    OK you guys are way over my head, does the solo performance slider control mission speed or not, if not how do we set it to turtle?
     
  9. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    I can't say with 100% certainty what effect the set speed box within tower will have when a certain speed is set within the solo app but if you set solo performance to rabbit for example your missions will be blistering fast unless you adjust the speed within tower. In order to change this within the solo app you have to first connect to the solo Wi-Fi and then open up the solo app and click Options/settings then select Solo then within that there should be a performance section where you can find a slider to select between turtle and rabbit. You can also select the rate in which solo rotates with the left stick. Like I said your controller and solo need to be powered on and you have to have your tablet connected to the Wi-Fi network

    Sent from my SM-T237P using Tapatalk
     
  10. DodgeP

    DodgeP Guest

    There is no no gimbal control when you start your mission so all points of interest that are not directly in the forward facing direction of the mission need to be set up in the mission via a waypoint.
     
  11. lasikdr

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    7
    Very helpful.
    Do you have steps of initial setup of tower app and Solo with GoPro?
     
  12. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    In what regard? Assuming you have Solo mounted in the Gimbal you can control the Gimbal using the video preview window in Tower. Also, there should be a button overlay on the video in window in Tower to stop and start recording. You can also stop and start recording by using the Solo controller by clicking in the left paddle button that controls the gimbal.
     
  13. baldguy

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    Has anyone noticed that while flying with Tower, the Solo seems to fly more crudely. When in the Solo App, it takes off smooth, hovers smooth, and slips around like butter. In Tower, from takeoff to landing, whether in a planned mission, or in Loiter, it seems crude, almost like the ESCs can't decide who's in charge. The gimbal seems to overcome the crudeness but it just doesn't seem right. In fact, it is so crude that on the second time I tried it, the Solo took off and skipped sideways about 8 feet before I could get in shut down.
     
  14. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,318
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    have you tried Bezier way points:
     
  15. baldguy

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    I tried Spline one time but it has honestly been a while and I don't recall the difference. Should it be different? Have you had the same experience?
     
  16. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    What performance settings do have your Solo set to? I am told if you set to Tortoise for both performance and yaw it will be smoother, less crude...
     
  17. baldguy

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    I'm still flying tortoise.
     
  18. brucenz

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone please tell me what the blue spot in the white circle represents. The one near the vehicle position. Screenshot_2016-04-22-16-11-35.png
     
  19. nuggetz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    99
    That's your tablet/iPhone running tower.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Maddog

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    I believe that is your home position.