Help ... Stripped Threads on the Motor Shafts

Reaction score
Yes, I am new to quads and have been flying the solo enough now I though I was ready for a few Smart shots. Long story short, one shot made the quad head quickly for a fence... I tried the pause button but it didn't stop it. One question; do you hold the pause or just hit it once. OK for the real question after the crash, two broken props, that is easy to replace, however they hit hard enough to over tighten them during the crash. Used a small wrench on the flat spots on the motor shaft / housing however it didn't want to come off. Held the motor housing with large pliers and some electrical tape to around the motor to keep from scratching and to allow more grip.. Well you got it, both shafts now have stripped threads. The prop continued to spin around with the wrench and only came off with some force pulling up. Inspecting the threads you can see there is not much left. Must I replace the entire motor assembly for $60.00 each... :-( please help or can the shafts be replaced ?? Thanks in advance, Rob

Zoom up on photo One motor with good threads and One motor with stripped threads :-(
2016-06-26 21.42.23.jpg 2016-06-26 21.42.55.jpg

Hello Rob, sorry about your mishap. You might try a thread chaser but judging from your pic you're going to need motor pod(s). If your handy with a solder station you might try swapping out the stock motors for some Tiger V2 KV800 MT-2216 T-Motors.

Motors Swapped to T-Motor 2216-12 800kV

RolandS888 (et al.) have done a phenomenal job documenting this swap and compiling performance data on this and other motors including the stock ones.

The biggest motivating factor for me was the improved bearings over stock.

So, you have some options. Please post whatever you decide to do and why, as this will help others. Clear Skies to you!

Reactions: Rob Hunt
Let me address the Pause button issue.