Help!! Go Pro Settings for Video and Photos

Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
52
My Solo just arrived along with a GoPro Hero 4 Black. I have never used either before and wondered what the best settings for the GoPro are.

I want to shoot video and also take some stills of outdoor wedding ceremonies. I understand that on the controller I can take photos by pressing some of the buttons so I was thinking of shooting video in 4k and taking photos when needed using the controller. Is that possible?

Looking at the GoPro, if I want to shoot video and photos I can shoot in 4k just 1080p?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 6, 2015
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
541
Age
40
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
1080 60fps and medium seem to be best I've found others recommended these to me as well. Unfortunatley you can't take stills or control gopro until we get the gimbal you just get your video feed from the connection for now. All you mention will be possible as soon as you attach the gimbal and obviously the video will look top notch at that time as well but it's another decent sized investment. It is going to be needed though to get footage that youl be happy with doing weddings. Good luck hope all goes well read through some of the issues posted here there's some things that will help you be prepared in case you have any problems,gps issues have been the most common but not the only issue we've been seeing.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
48
Age
50
My Solo just arrived along with a GoPro Hero 4 Black. I have never used either before and wondered what the best settings for the GoPro are.

I want to shoot video and also take some stills of outdoor wedding ceremonies. I understand that on the controller I can take photos by pressing some of the buttons so I was thinking of shooting video in 4k and taking photos when needed using the controller. Is that possible?

Looking at the GoPro, if I want to shoot video and photos I can shoot in 4k just 1080p?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
DO NOT USE WIFI on GoPro You cant not take pictures with controller ...You must start controller then solo your app (tablet or phone) Last turn on Go Pro ...you can get stills every 5 or 10 seconds but on gopro you must set it to do that in gopro in manual it tells you how to do it..When gimbal come out you will have total control of Go Pro then with app ....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Adimuzio513
Joined
Jun 6, 2015
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
541
Age
40
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
DO NOT USE WIFI on GoPro You cant not take pictures with controller ...You must start controller then solo your app (tablet or phone) Last turn on Go Pro ...you can get stills every 5 or 10 seconds but on gopro you must set it to do that in gopro in manual it tells you how to do it..When gimbal come out you will have total control of Go Pro then with app ....
Good call should have prolly mentioned this as well.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
48
Age
50
Good call should have prolly mentioned this as well.
If I can Help I will .....I can't remember everything also ..People having problems with hero 3 + also
So posted about why or what could be there problem ...come to find out firmware could have been corrupted..learning everyday lol
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
13
Location
IL
My Solo just arrived along with a GoPro Hero 4 Black. I have never used either before and wondered what the best settings for the GoPro are.

I want to shoot video and also take some stills of outdoor wedding ceremonies. I understand that on the controller I can take photos by pressing some of the buttons so I was thinking of shooting video in 4k and taking photos when needed using the controller. Is that possible?

Looking at the GoPro, if I want to shoot video and photos I can shoot in 4k just 1080p?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

You can also get stills from video in the GoPro Studio software. You can only get the stills from video that has been converted though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Microsprint
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
52
Thanks for all your help guys, looks like for now I will use Video and Photos option in GoPro, 1080 and Medium FOV and set the timer to take photos every 30 seconds.

Just need the Gimbal to arrive, its been ordered.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
47
Reaction score
9
Age
61
I have a related question. I was under the impression that I could start/stop the video from the Solo App. Is this possible through the HDMI connection? Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
101
Reaction score
53
I have a related question. I was under the impression that I could start/stop the video from the Solo App. Is this possible through the HDMI connection? Thanks.
Nope. That's only with the solo gimbal.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
48
Age
50
KRVer is correct Andy only with gimbal .....DO NOT USE GO PRO WIFI WITH SOLO make sure it is turned off
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
52
Just took Solo for its first flight, everything went well apart from the fact I had no video feed from the Gopro. Is there anything I need to do to get a live video feed?

I turned on the controller, then solo, then opened the app, then turned on the GoPro?

Is this the right sequence is there another order to do things?
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
75
Reaction score
28
What device are you using? With iPhone or iPad make sure you close out the app completely. Force close it then restart it. I have heard some other devices are not compatible at all for live feed.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
52
Its all sorted, I'm using an ipad mini. What I did was close the ipad down completely, then re-start it. Used the following sequence powering up:

Solo
Controller
Link solo wifi
Open app
Plug in GoPro & Switch it on
Hit Fly Solo and hey presto - live feed is there.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
75
Reaction score
28
Glad it's sorted. You don't have to restart the iPad every time. Press the home button twice, swipe the solo app up. That force closes it. Then restart the app. Must do this every time or no live feed. No idea why.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
477
Age
66
Location
Texas
My sequence is GoPro, Solo, Controller, Wifi connection, App.....wait for GPS while I look at the nice grass on my tablet screen...
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Age
53
If I can Help I will .....I can't remember everything also ..People having problems with hero 3 + also
So posted about why or what could be there problem ...come to find out firmware could have been corrupted..learning everyday lol
I have a hero 3+ ... can't get live feed... just got it back from 3dr on rma for this issue thinking it was the cable. ... still no live feed... how do I update firmware on hero3
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
21
Reaction score
2
Age
53
I updated thru the GoPro app on my iPhone.
I did find the solution for me on another conversation. ...they order in which I powered things up made the difference for me. I thought I tried all the combos but this one worked in my case.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
16
Got my Solo, GoPro 3+ And iPad Mini 2 last Saturday. All firmware was updated and devices all charged and Solo calibrated. I am a total novice at this and did not know there was a preferred start-up sequence. I have just been making sure all the preflight things were done, but in no particular order, except that I turn on GoPro and set it to record last. Solo flys perfectly and I get streaming live video to the iPad Mini evey time. Should I be following one of the recommended sequences. I have learned a lot from this forum.
 

New Posts

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
12,967
Messages
146,944
Members
15,612
Latest member
Corrado