Gps longevity

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to the whole gps discussion and drones. I'm curious though from what I've read, (and please by all means correct and or update me at anytime) it appears that 3dr chose the gps unit in use because it would lock onto only visable US gps satellites, and provide a more accurate reading of what is available. Yet it seems that there is a debate about how "strong" the card is I'm aquiring and maintaining gps lock.

I guess my question is, what is the longevity of the current card? How much tweaking in updates can they do to the current system to improve performance? Who feels the current card falls short and why? What are the pros and cons if you will. I'm assuming the card has a dedicated antenna for itself? I'm also curious about gps in solo and other drones compared to phones, tablets and so on. While cell towers I know are used to help improve location, it APPEARS that gps In these devices are less affected by environmental obstacles such as trees and so on.

Like any system everything has its ups and downs, there seems to be a lot of debate over this, and in regards to drones it seems to be all over the place. Just looking for some schooling and insight.

Bish,

Some really good questions you've posed. I don't have any answers for you but after reading your post a while ago, I was hoping to see some answers as well. Great questions, maybe we'll see some answers tomorrow.

Jerry

Reactions: Bishamoten
Well I haven't had any of the GPS issues that people have discussed. Seems like that has really died down on these boards. I guess the software updates that came out over the last 3 months have helped.