Battery discharger

Reaction score
Seems to happen more often these days, charge batteries and weekend's flights get canceled due to rain or other distractions. I fully understand the need to discharge batteries to a storage level.

I'd like a sophisticated discharger like @PdxSteve has designed, but in the interest of time, money or knowledge a simple design would be more within my abilities. Googling, I find a series of light bulbs can be an effective solution.

My question is how many light bulbs do I use? I don't want to pound the battery by discharging to quickly. But then I don't want the setup to run for 8 hours to bring the battery to 50%.

Readily available 12V lamps are automotive type. Wattage is anywhere from 8.3 to 20W each. Should I place two series of lamps to have a 24VDC voltage with the stock 4S battery? What wire size?

Like I've mentioned, I'm a mechanic and have little desire to become an electrical engineer. Any advice or specific solution would be appreciated. I can solder, wire and build anything simple with guidance. The discharger will not run unattended.

Thank you in advance.

Well it discharges at about 300 watts in flight, so I don't think you need to worry about over doing it with lightbulbs :)

So if you put two 20 watt bulbs on it, whether in series or parallel, you will get a 40 watt discharge. That will take it down to 50% in about 2 hours.

What's the real need for a discharger? Solo batteries discharge themselves to roughly 50 percent capacity in a week or so.

Reactions: Jubalr
What's the real need for a discharger? Solo batteries discharge themselves to roughly 50 percent capacity in a week or so.

That's a good question. Two purposes, I'd prefer to discharge at a rate higher than a trickle. My thinking is the slow rate could shorten the battery life, as they were designed to be depleted at relitive high amps. Don't know why, but this is what I think...based on other battery experiences.