4K (or 2.7 for that matter) Post editing

Reaction score
New to 4k as many of us are. Just bought a GoPro 4 black which is my first GoPro.

I am not a professional but can appreciate decent video. Its nice to have a little extra headroom to crop ect, but guessing for the most part I am going to be filming in 1080 with a high frame rate.

Yesterday did a little video recording at 2.7k and it was a major pain to mess with. The transfer time from the card should have been a good indication of what I was in for before taking ti to Premiere Pro. Pretty sure there is no way I want to try to edit 10 to 20 minutes of 4k from a solo flight on a regular basis

Now granted I don't have the fastest computer but it is an first gen i7 with good video card, SSD drives and 16 gig of RAM.

Hard to even view the video !

I recommend taking more short busts of video than fewer really long recordings. This makes it easier to work with since you toss out all the takes you don't want/need and you are importing much smaller files.

I find that people have an extremely short attention span. Even when I start with 20 minutes of video when adding up all the clips I try to narrow it down to the four to six best "scenes" and even then I try to make sure the final video is no longer than around 60 seconds. No one wants to watch a bunch of filler -- Unless you are doing some sort of documentary keep your videos short.

Reactions: JDizzy
Yea I am sure that's true. However I am just a casual flyer out for the view so I normally record power lift off to landing. Maybe I will grow up and start doing something real :)

And I agree about attention span. Found that out doing youtube video reviews. 3 or 4 minutes and they are gone !

Thanks for reply

You can create reference clips (Lower Res) in premier so you can edit offline faster and more efficiently. Then when your done, render out the original footage using the post work you did on the reference clips.