Video editing software

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm VERY new to this but I caught the bug like so many others. I haven't recorded everything yet since I'm waiting on the gimbal for my solo. I'm do NOT possess a huge background in photo and video editing and I don't plan to make a living at this. Just having fun shooting areas I love. That being said I want a simple software, something I can piece together shots, take out vibration and add music if I want. I see all this talk about how editing 4k vids is such a task and that makes no sense to my simple mind, lol. I need to keep it simple but will still produce a nice quality. I need it to be PHD...push here dummy.

Adobe Premiere is generally considered the best video editing software. I use it and love it. However, it is not easy to learn and may provide more than you need. Accordingly you might want to try Premiere Elements. And yes, you need a very powerful computer and video card to edit 4k video. Accordingly you might want to try 1080.

If you are a Mac user, with a pretty powerful machine, Final Cut Pro 10 is very good as well. If you have no prior editing experience, it is fairly easy to learn. If you have used Premier or Avid in the past (other readers here), then it will completely blow your mind since it has re-invented how to edit video. $300 gets a fully 4K ready software solution.

I know I'm a little late on this thread but I'm new around here. For video editing I always recommend Vegas Movie Studio for those that have never edited before. It is supposed to be intuitive to how you think it should work. I'm a long time editor that has been trained in other ways so it doesn't make sense to me but everyone I've ever talked to that has not edited before picked it up fast and easy.