Tower and Shutter Function + new mod video coming

Reaction score
First off I have a gimbal wiring modification I'm going to be sharing soon. Part of it will void the warranty but the other will not.

Secondly, has anyone been able to use the shutter function in Tower yet? This function is required for structure scans and mapping, two things we do a lot of here at KState.

Last edited:
Reactions: Earldgrayjr
First off I have a gimbal wiring modification I'm going to be sharing soon. Part of it will void the warranty but the other will not.

Secondly, has anyone been able to use the shutter function in Tower yet? This function is required for trickier scans and mapping, two things we do a lot of here at KState.
I've used it in testing only. Was able to switch the GP between photo and video modes, and then to take a picture by pressing the camera icon. Or are you referring to a manual shutter trigger on cameras other than GP?

I've used it in testing only. Was able to switch the GP between photo and video modes, and then to take a picture by pressing the camera icon. Or are you referring to a manual shutter trigger on cameras other than GP?
I'm referring to the shutter function when flying a mission. When you set up a scan or parameter it automatically includes shutter release points spaced based on your camera FOV and records them so you can georeference them later.

I'm referring to the shutter function when flying a mission. When you set up a scan or parameter it automatically includes shutter release points spaced based on your camera FOV and records them so you can georeference them later.

I tried it yesterday but couldn't get tower to automatically trigger the shutter when running a mission. Switching between video and still camera works fine, as does manually taking photos, video and raising / lowering the gimbal by swiping the live video view but automatically triggering the go pro camera at a fixed n meter interval doesn't seem to work.