landed solo.. motors stayed on. then took off on its own

Reaction score
SO i hit the land button.
I then assisted it in landing so it would be where I wanted it.
Once it landed, the motors didn't shut off.
I happened to power the controller off right when it landed because usually the motors turn off.
All of a sudden, the Solo launched in to flight, went up and forward straight in to some tree branches and then crashed. Any ideas?

I'm still new to all this UAV stuff.
Also, I am posting a video link below. The end of the video shows me crashing my Solo in to a friend. This was about ten minutes before the runaway flight happened. Could this crash been part of the reason the second one happened?

**The drone footage was with a friend's Hero3. The other footage is my Hero4 black with Peau 3.97 lens and Evo GP-PRO gimbal.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Last edited:
I shouldn't say "right when it landed" . It was about 5-10 after. The motors were kind of pulsing as if they were trying to shut off but weren't.
Even so, why would it take off when I shut the power of the controller off?? That doesn't seem right. It should stay put, no?

No signal from controller (turning it off) would be the same as signal loss when flying, which solo will then try to RTH and land since it didn't think it landed yet.
It was home, and it was landed. lol So maybe it was trying to take off and then RTH?

It didn't detect it landed yet, or it would have shut the motors off. Yes, because it lost controller signal, it went into a new RTH. So it was taking off to land as crazy as that sounds, but thats what happens when it loses controller input and you are close to the ground.

It took off for the same reason the motors started on i guess?
Make a ticket with 3DR & then if you can send t-logs here, we have some really good minds that can tell you exactly what happened.