Future for New Solo Owner

Reaction score
Newbie here! Hey folks!

Well I think I am happy about now owning a Solo but of course not sure with all the uncertainty with 3DR. Maybe you guys can give me some perspective based on my application.

I design golf courses. Purchased the Solo so I can film some nice images related to golf holes as i build them etc. Use that on the web site and other social media etc.

I also own an Iris+ but I purchased the Solo simply because of Smart Shots. Look, I will never become an enthusiast like many of you guys nor am I a photographer so I really needed something like Smart Shots to simplify things for me when trying to capture some nice imagery. All I want to do is take my Solo backpack with me when I visit my projects and use it when I see the opportunity based on progress, results of the project and the weather of course.

I am not an Apple user and therefore use Android for the app. I got the backpack package a couple weeks ago for a mere $550 and added another battery. Upon first run I had the control stick calibration error so I found the fix here on this site with putty etc and got through that. Firs flight went fine other than an error warning of Manual camera control. I did the putty calibration thing again so hopefully that will take care of it and will find out later today when I go try to capture some video.

With all that taken care of, and knowing I am not trying to do things with Solo at a super high level, how do you think things stand for me and other like me with the issues and changes at 3DR? I am not a recreational user consumer, but I am trying to use this tool professionally for my business. It would be to bad if 3Dr looked at my investment as a simple consumer and didn't support me moving forward. All I really want is for the solo to do what it is supposed to do. I don't need much more.

Looking forward to your thoughts.