The Solo Saga

Reaction score
So . . . lo . . . it's been interesting reading all the various posts in this forum. I'm new to the 'drone' world . . . new to this forum. I pre-ordered the Solo with gimbal on the first day offered April __ . . . Like all of you I've waited and waited and finally got the Solo ( minus the gimbal ). I've been practicing flying the Solo without the gimbal although fun and thrilling . . . . really sucks without the gimbal . . . but I've gotten familiarizing fly time.

Now about the promises promises bull shit of gimbal shipping . . . next week next week next week next week etc. I've used up my 2015 calendar already and it's only September. I ordered through DSLRPros. no gimbal.

Then last friday the18th I saw a post about Best Buy having them in stock . . . "out of stock" , "store pick up only" , "none in this store" etc. Then I made a miracle happen all within a very short window of opportunity. Called my BB in Syracuse - none there.
Had them locate the nearest BB with the gimbal . . . Scranton PA. I bought it right then. As I was on the phone with the BB person, they were unloading 3DR products from the truck in Scranton. SO I DROVE TO SCRANTON PA and got it.
And now I have a gimbal with the original still backordered

Having read so many horror stories about the flaws and malfunctions . . . I was nervous about setting it up and actually flying a gimbaled solo.

I did. Took it out for an easy test drive . . . and it actually freakin' works ! Must have gotten lucky.