Some good news coming from the 3DR office.

Reaction score
When I heard the Texas office was shutting it's doors and they were sending all the drones and left over batteries back to TJ, I was immediately concerned about the longevity of support from 3DR. Especially in the software development realm because let's face it. The Software and Technology is one of the main reasons we all have this drone, right?

Specifically, I was concerned about further GoPro updates. I'm a photographer before anything else, and will be flying the new Peau Production 8.25 on my solo almost exclusively. Stay tuned for some awesome photos to come. (Pre order is available)

Peau is sending me out a Hero 4 with the the 8.25 but warned me that new update doesn't allow camera control from the solo app if you do the firmware update. The firmware is very important to me because I was to shoot in RAW. That's a given. Losing trigger control for snapping photos would be a HUGE inconvenience to me.

I reached out to 3DR and got this response when asked about future compatibility concerns and software development.

"This is the official announcement from our Superior
Hi all,
Last week was a pretty busy week to say the least. I just wanted to say that while we are making changes within 3DR, one thing that does not change is Support. My team and I have no plans on going anywhere. We are still hard at work keeping everyone in the air. So please fly with peace of mind, keep an eye on your battery levels, get the shot, and happy flying"

Now, this could just be a little generic message to keep the fire of Colin leaving contained, but it certinaly keeps me hopeful for at least the foreseeable future.

That is what Vu said a week ago. Old news actually. But what does that have to do with your camera and ability to control it? It also doesn't mean you should be expecting new features or major changes. Quite the opposite.