Solex Missions, Tower, Mission Planner, or QGroundControl

Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
147
Reaction score
18
Age
49
Kelly, in Solex Missions can you create a ROI that is negative altitude?

Is there a “release ROI” like in Tower?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
147
Reaction score
18
Age
49
Excellent, I’ll try Set ROU/Clear.

Can a ROI have a negative altitude?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
181
Age
54
Excellent, I’ll try Set ROU/Clear.

Can a ROI have a negative altitude?
At this point, it can only have an altitude down to 0. The altitude of the ROI determines how far down the gimbal points to look at the ROI point. So at 0, it would be looking at the ground.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
147
Reaction score
18
Age
49
Negative ROI heights are important for getting the shot right

please add this to your feature request.

Thanks for the active development
 
  • Like
Reactions: Arny58
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
61
I've been using QGC, MP, and Tower for some time. Just purchased Solex + Missions last week (partially due to curiosity and the raves it seems to be receiving in these forums).

Since I've switched from a Windows tablet to Android (Dell Venue 10, 5.1) MP has fallen to disuse.

QGroundControl (QGC)
  • Free and open source
  • Multiplatform: Win, Mac, Linux, iOS (beta), Android
  • Currently maintained, 2-3 main contributors
  • Has surveys
    • no spline surveys
    • sometimes surveys load from saved missions as individual waypoints
  • Planned Home and RTL paths shown on map
  • Geofences are defined per mission
  • (Likely a user error on my part) Requires extra confirmation at mission start, causing false error

Tower
  • Free and open source
  • Android only
  • Not much project activity since Oct. 2017, 2-3 main contributorHas surveys and spline surveys
  • Pleasant interface and generally easy to use
  • Takeoff and RTL planned locations not shown graphically on map
    • (Some people prefer this, whereas I prefer the QGC approach)
  • Allows fully autonomous takeoff for missions
Solex
  • Proprietary, $30 for main program + $20 for missions + $10 for geotagging
    • draws heavily from 3DR Solo and Tower open sources
  • Android only
  • Currently maintained, 1 developer
  • Has surveys and spline surveys
  • Has lots of advanced waypoint actions that leverage Solo/OpenSolo advances
  • Beautiful interface and generally very easy to use
  • Takeoff and RTL planned locations not shown graphically on map
    • (Some people prefer this, whereas I prefer the QGC approach)
  • Has integrated firmware upgrade capability
  • IN MY VERY LIMITED EXPERIENCE WITH SOLEX seems to have lots of little quirks, usability challenges, and bugs. To be fair, I have not yet flown with Solex (not quite confident that I should).
    • Developer might be busy/vacationing... hasn't responded to my reported issues or offers to help
Just my 2 cents. I appreciate that each of us have different needs/experiences/opinions. What's great is that we actually have many different choices for ground control apps.
My skepticism for Solex are; it is only one guy that maintain the app. It could be nice if Kelly involved an another soul.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
61
My skepticism for Solex are; it is only one guy that maintain the app. It could be nice if Kelly involved an another soul.
Can't find that a mission can be paused for changing battery while I power the cube through the USB in the belly contact.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
61
Meaning what, exactly? I should hire someone to work on Solex?
Thinking on the continuity. Good forbid; but you can be sic. Du you have a plan for wath to do in such a case?
Like your work and using Solex regularly.
Starting up next week with a large survey and need battery chang during the job. I haven't seen any pause button yet. But I bet you know where it is.
I am changing batteries when the USB is powered.
Have a nice day.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,658
Reaction score
2,449
Starting up next week with a large survey and need battery chang during the job. I haven't seen any pause button yet. But I bet you know where it is. I am changing batteries when the USB is powered.
Have a nice day.
Mission's are not really paused. You're either in auto mode, or you're not. If you want to interrupt a mission, you just change flight modes and do whatever it is you need to do (like come home and hot-swap batteries. Then when you switch back to auto mode, the mission will resume where it left off. This assuming parameter MIS_RESTART is still set for the default of 0. There is no separate pause function or resume function. It just does it. This is a function of ArduCopter, not a function of the Solex app.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wetstone and Arny58
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
61
Mission's are not really paused. You're either in auto mode, or you're not. If you want to interrupt a mission, you just change flight modes and do whatever it is you need to do (like come home and hot-swap batteries. Then when you switch back to auto mode, the mission will resume where it left off. This assuming parameter MIS_RESTART is still set for the default of 0. There is no separate pause function or resume function. It just does it. This is a function of ArduCopter, not a function of the Solex app.
Thank you for the information.
I has to make an instruction manual for our systems and that info was missing.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
11,919
Messages
139,768
Members
13,779
Latest member
sawork