New SOLO

SKP

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and will have my very first Quad. Help me guys, have not ordered Gimbal since it is not available yet per local best buy. They said there's a Go Pro holder, but I think Selfie or any video options cannot be used?
Let me know.

You can run video options but of course just cant tilt the camera. Cable cam and orbit works as guys have used it. Don't know about selfie. Try it out and let us know. I would think everything actually works as 3DR made no disclaimer when advertising the unit that you need a gimbal. Biggest issue is going to be crappy video.

It might be crappy, will let you know tomorrow.

Based on all the video so far its not going to be good for sure. Need to stabilize the camera. Let us know how you like it.

Without the gimbal I would recommend cranking the performance sliders all the way to the left (softest). It helps a bit.

As long as you are just hovering or just flying forward/backward, or up/down its pretty smooth. Not "gimbal smooth," but good enough that with stabilization in a program like iMovie or Final Cut, you can get some passable footage.

Edit: updated.

Last edited:
can u see what the camera is seeing with out the gimbal?

can u see what the camera is seeing with out the gimbal?
Yes. With or without the gimbal you see a "live-stream" of what the GoPro sees.

Without the gimbal you can kinda record video. What you are really doing is recording the live-stream as it was received by your iPad/Android tablet. Those videos just get saved to your photo library on your iPad/Android. They aren't great because the lifestream is lower resolution and a bit fuzzy.