Laws

Reaction score
I am new to all the drone stuff. I was wondering what all the drone laws, and if someone could explain them in a more simple way. I was also wondering where I should go if I want to get UAV or Drone insurance, and what I need it to cover, if i want to fly. Last, I wanted to know what the boundaries are for flying over homes, like what height do I need to be at if I want to not be trespassing. Any help will do. Thanks!

less than 400ft and further than 5 miles from nearest airport. There are also no fly zones of military or industrial (nuclear power) areas. No one really insures drones yet. Join the AMA for some liability protection. Also do not fly over crowds directly. California says maintain above 350 ft over private homes now. Do not fly in areas of wildfires or were firefighting aircraft are transiting.

less than 400ft and further than 5 miles from nearest airport. There are also no fly zones of military or industrial (nuclear power) areas. No one really insures drones yet. Join the AMA for some liability protection. Also do not fly over crowds directly. California says maintain above 350 ft over private homes now. Do not fly in areas of wildfires or were firefighting aircraft are transiting.
Three Questions:

1. What is the AMA?

2. So would you say that 350 ft over everything is kind of a baseline for most places?

3. What are laws like on recording people? like if they are in a frame on a really good shot?

1. AMA is http://www.modelaircraft.org/

2. CA is silly.....so called privacy laws are the 350 foot thing not every place has those type of BS rules / laws.....FAA says no higher than 400 feet, and federal law should trump local laws as well but this will play out in the courts over time.

http://www.modelaircraft.org/

350 is pretty high. If you aren't loitering around I'd say no one will complain of you're 200 ft up.

Recording people in public is just like anything else it's up to you. Public is public. Use common sense.