Just received a 3DR Solo for free from a friend and need some help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I just got this drone and it will bye my first drone ever. It is the 3DR number S110A with the Go-Pro 4. There is no manual with it and i need a manual as well as need to know what software to download to fly it. I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 so i am curious if that will work or not. Any help or advice is much appreciated as i am extremely new to this whole drone stuff.

Hi MrRags, Pretty much everything you initially need is on this site. Check out the recent posts over the past couple of months - several mirror your exact situation.

The manual is online - "3DR Solo" ... search it out, bookmark it!!

Depending on your Solo's history, if not new-in-box, will determine how much work is involved to update the firmware. If NIB, it requires a firmware upgrade, not a trivial job but very doable. It's possible that it's updated - power up the controller, then the SOLO. IF the controller screen is stuck on "Waiting For Solo" after 2 minutes or so, maybe pairing is required..., so:

Get the manual, and go to the "Pairing" section to link the controller and drone. After they are paired, tell us what the screen says after they pair. This will indicate what has to be done.

IF you are on Facebook, there is a group to check out..."JB's 3DR Solo Owners Group".

All the help you need is out there and here - ask questions, but sift thru all the posts on this site.
___
Power them up after checking the manual - we need to know what the screen says after power up, following the Waiting For Solo screen.

Don't be a stranger & GL!

Thank you very much for the info. I will look around. Just kinda got excited as this is my first drone so I am super what to play. I’m not on Facebook and I have been trying to find an alternative app to use as the solo app is gone and the soles app is only android and I have an iPhone :(