Can't change map provider in Tower to Mapbox

Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
39
Hi,

I can't change the map provider in Tower. It only gives me google map option. See attached picture:
Screenshot_2016-09-28-14-01-26.png.

The same happens in the two devices I use:
1.- Cellphone Samsung Galaxy J5, Android 5.1.1, Tower v3.2.1
2.- Tablet Samsung Galaxy Tab 4, Android 5.0.2, Tower v3.2.1

I want to use Mapbox so any help would be very apreciatted.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
1,442
Reaction score
483
Location
SWFL
Tower map selection has mysteriously changed and Mapbox seemed to magically disappear. I was using it and had it set in Tower, but installed Tower Beta 4.x and found the settings again in a sub-menu - though it still claims it is using Google Maps. I think it's using Mapbox, as set, because quite honestly, Mapbox maps seem older than Google's.

Hard to explain. Just download Tower Beta 4.x and take a look. It can peacefully co-exist on the same device as Tower 3.2.1 and no specific problems have been reported here from people flying it more extensively than I. It also no longer requires 3DR Services.

New Tower v. 4.0.0-beta.2 released
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
39
Thanks for your answer... I will definitely try that!!!
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
39
I downloaded Tower v4.0.0-beta.8 and it doesn't have Mapbox as map provider. It has Google and Baidu...:(
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
1,442
Reaction score
483
Location
SWFL
I downloaded Tower v4.0.0-beta.8 and it doesn't have Mapbox as map provider. It has Google and Baidu...:(
Look in the SUB-menus... Settings -> User Interface -> Map Provider Preferences -> Map Tile Provider. Once Mapbox is selected, go to Tile Provider Preferences and set Mapbox id and Mapbox Access Token.

I'm just a hack and the way I find myself around any new software is to "indiscriminately click on things". Sometimes it bites me in the butt, usually it opens horizons. 3DR, Tower, and even Solex have precious little documentation so simply 'click on things...'.

I don't know why this Tower menu structure exists as it does as it is not intuitive, but try it and let us know your results. It's betaware, developed by programmers... but I suspect, not everyday users. It's good stuff, but darn... :confused:
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
39
Oh, my mistake... I found it, after your detailed explanation, thank you!!! It is also in the same place in Tower 3.2.1.
I'm not trying to justify my lack of search capability, but I don't understand why there are 2 menus where you can choose map providers and both with diferent options.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
1,442
Reaction score
483
Location
SWFL
...I'm not trying to justify my lack of search capability, but I don't understand why there are 2 menus where you can choose map providers and both with diferent options.
It's a mystery wrapped in a conundrum... :confused:
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
12,095
Messages
141,202
Members
14,016
Latest member
wabknobby