Help with 4K in premiere

Reaction score
Ok, I need to ask. Been googling, reading some blogs, and checking out some YouTube tutorials.

I am new to working with 4K video. I downloaded the 4K GoPro footage off the ad card. I used mpeg steamclip to convert the GoPro footage to prores 422 (working on a Mac). I thought then I could just edit on a 4K timeline in premier pro. I import the footage, put on timeline and I match sequence setting to footage. But everything bogs down. Clips will play for 3 seconds, then stop.

I take the same footage into my much older Final Cut Pro 7 and seems to edit just fine, but no warp stabalizer, and other things. No link to after effects.

I'm wondering if I have something setup wrong? How are others editing in premier?

Thanks
Jeff

I use a PC, Custom I5 4500 Mhz & 16 gig memory & when using Premiere CC with 4K video from my Gopro, it also slows down.

You didn't post what type of system your using, but memory & a Fast hard drive will help.
I just started using 2.7k Med FOV & my system works good.
Hope this info. helps.

I have a 2009 Mac Pro, 8 core, with the 2.4ghz processors. My main drive (program drive) is a 250gig ssd drive. Then I have a 2nd 250gig ssd drive that I use for saving projects too. Then my media drive is a 4tb drive raid drive (made up of two 7200rpm 2tb drives). Then I have a render drive and a cache drive. It also has 24gigs of ram, and a quadro 4000 for Mac video card (for cuda processing). While the processors are older, the rest of the system is pretty good.

I'm just baffled why I can take my 4K prores files and they play smooth as can be in Final Cut Pro 7 (version before final cut x came out). But when I put them in premiere they can play for 2 seconds then bogs down. I thought premiere liked to play nice with prores? Doing some research, I might have to try converting to GoPro cinform (I think that's what it's called).