What to Buy?

Reaction score
I have been a filmmaker my entire high school! I have wanted to expand my shot selection to drones. I have not been able to decided what drone I want. I don't have a go pro, which makes it hard to get the 3DR, but I am looking for a drone that will last me a while. I know the 3dr has a lot of potential for the future, but is it really worth it over the p3p. Any thoughts. Also, I am going to college next year if that helps anyone with opinions!

I have been a filmmaker my entire high school! I have wanted to expand my shot selection to drones. I have not been able to decided what drone I want. I don't have a go pro, which makes it hard to get the 3DR, but I am looking for a drone that will last me a while. I know the 3dr has a lot of potential for the future, but is it really worth it over the p3p. Any thoughts. Also, I am going to college next year if that helps anyone with opinions!
The P3 is definitely cheaper. If you have a problem with it, the support is pretty lacking. Warranty repairs have to be done in China which can take 60 days from the time you send it off. The camera it comes with is the one you are stuck with. If this is your first drone, I would go out and get a small cheap one that you can fly around and get used to before dropping $1000 or more.
The Solo is definitely more expensive especially if you are buying the camera too. You would have support here in the U.S. Their replacement policy is unmatched. The GoPro can be used for much more than flying around on a drone.
I'm sure it's a tough choice since the Solo is still brand new and nearly twice the price but it's gonna be around for a while and will get better and better as time goes on. With expansion potential and the open source technology available, there is lots of potential for the Solo.

Raybro has good points and 100% correct.