Spinning crazy Solo. Any ideas on the problem?

Joined
May 24, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Age
41
Hi Solo Pilots! Any idea what could be causing this erratically flying on my Solo 3Dr?

Video here:
I can only add that I tried once to load a planned mission with the ArduPilot Mission Planner and maybe that's still loaded somewhere, although I I did a factory reset to the solo and now I am using the official app.

Any clue would be appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
1,617
Reaction score
660
Age
42
Gyro is FUBAR, almost 100% certain. Could also be magnetometer, but usually that is a slow drifting spin.

If a level calibration doesn't help I think you may need to source a new Cube
 
  • Like
Reactions: brushhippie
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
3,119
Reaction score
1,653
Location
Chouston, Tejas
IIRC someone had something similar... Something to do with selecting the wrong frame type in MP.

During take off, the pitch up, looks odd. Almost like a motor is dragging in power. Could be a prop not oriented correctly. Or you could have a failing motor.

My question, why would you fly with a gimbal installed knowing the bird is acting up....

Gyro is FUBAR, almost 100% certain.
Wouldn't the system prevent flight if a bad gyro?
 
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
1,617
Reaction score
660
Age
42
If the gyro is not showing as present or is delivering SERIOUSLY bad data then the EKF will usually error out. But if the data is 'in range' it will still arm and fly.

But you do remind me that I should have asked way more questions, asked for logs, and considered more options rather than just confidently throwing out my first answer.

What can I say...it was late/early and I was feeling confident.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
151
Reaction score
37
Age
64
Hi Solo Pilots! Any idea what could be causing this erratically flying on my Solo 3Dr?

Video here:
I can only add that I tried once to load a planned mission with the ArduPilot Mission Planner and maybe that's still loaded somewhere, although I I did a factory reset to the solo and now I am using the official app.

Any clue would be appreciated!

I had this happen on the first flight of a used Solo. Doing a parameter reset solved the problem. Do a search for parameter reset. It was accomplished by setting a bit in a system psrameter, but I don't recall which one at the moment.
 

VCD

Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
165
Reaction score
47
Age
43
The gyro(s) are absolutely NOT the problem. It could be swapped motor rotation order (motor pods swapped place) or frame config.
post your dataflashlog and you can get a straight answer.
 
Last edited:

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
12,960
Messages
146,907
Members
15,566
Latest member
Dbaut831