Mavlink to VB.net (C++ or C#)

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the coding for drones. I have a 3dr solo drone. I am simply trying to convert messages from mavproxy protocol or mavlink messages to vb.net. All I need is anything talking about coordinates and gps location. I can get the raw data whenever I type the command 'status' (when I am already connected to the solos wifi and talking to it via UDP). I just want to know if its a way I can call this information via VB.net, thanks!

i'm not sure of your current implementation but if i wanted to get vehicle location in a .net app i would use IronPython or Python for .net. With those libraries you can call python code or scripts from within a .net app with full flow control as well as return values.

using dronekit-python, just connect to the vehicle, get the location with vehicle.location.global_frame and return it.

Ok cool, I have Python on my computer, but I don't know how to include that library within .net. I have seen mavlink libraries and tried to do the #include<mavlink>, but I couldn't call any of those functions

Yes, I will take either one of them
Right now the code exists as a "plugin" to my larger data acquisition system - a DLL, not an exe. If you want a standalone example, I'd have to split that part out and make you a separate project.
It sounds like you already have a socket connection. Do you just need help breaking apart the messages?

Reactions: Steven Ackerman
Right now the code exists as a "plugin" to my larger data acquisition system - a DLL, not an exe. If you want a standalone example, I'd have to split that part out and make you a separate project.
It sounds like you already have a socket connection. Do you just need help breaking apart the messages?

Also interested in this code...

Couldn't you just use the raw mavlink protocol?
  • C
  • C#
  • Java
  • JavaScript
  • Lua
  • Python, version 2.7+
GitHub - mavlink/mavlink: MAVLink micro air vehicle marshalling / communication library