GPS confusion

Reaction score
Warned you guys that I am new to this. I am completely confused where it comes to GPS. Today I went out flying. Solo was taking forever to get a GPS lock. I am not a patient man so a few minutes = forever. App showed 10 seats and HDOP of 1.6 - 2.0. Solo would not lock and let me take off. Had done the firmware update. Tried right stick down and to the right to start motors. Have done this before, motors start and GPS locks. Today it would not start the motors until I switched to manual.

Came home did the App update. Went out in the yard and got 7 sats and HDOP of 2.1 and it locked. I don't get it. Can anyone explain?

Also have an app that shows satellites and estimated HDOP. There are all kinds of satellites on this app. Which ones does Solo read or connect to or whatever it does?

Reactions: StevenRS11
Were you out away from trees and buildings? I usually fly right outside my door and it generally takes 2 to 3 minutes to get a lock and I think it is because the house and my trees in the yard are blocking what would be an open view of the sky.

It does not use all the satellites, not the Glonass system any way. You should have been able to fly with 10 Sats and a low HDOP.

Many threads have been posted about GPS and some say when you fly from the same location that it will get a lock much quicker after a few flights. Supposedly keeping the satellite data in memory?

I have not experienced this yet and I wonder if it is because I don't leave my battery in the Solo when I'm not flying.

When I had lots of satellites and low HDOP but no lock I was in an open field. In the yard I was close to the house. That explains less satellites and higher HDOP.

I was in a new area in the field. Just don't understand why it would not lock. As soon as I start the motors in manual mode it locks.

I guess if the thing has a memory it would explain the quick lock in the yard.