Go pro 6 and Gimbal

Reaction score
newbie here...

any thoughts on the GoPro 6?

What about the Karma Gimbal? Compatible with Solo, with some creativeness of course.

I notice 3dr released information about solo gimbal requirements as open source, along with the 3d printer schematics. Anyone thought about printing one of the base plates and attaching it to karma gimbal?

https://dev.3dr.com/hardware-gimbalbay.html#hdmi-micro-cable

"The Solo software stack is not yet ready to integrate multiple types of gimbals. We are currently working on an extensible API to make it easier for third-party vendors to interface with different hardware.

For development purposes we recommend using Pixhawk 1 and Copter 3.3 ArduPilot firmware."

I also found a link on 3DR's website for developers to submit details about "custom gimbals" integration.

In short, yes, you could mount a any gimbal you'd like to the Solo and it would probably still do the job of stabilizing the camera in flight. But you probably wouldn't have control over the gimbal or camera without a bit of mucking about with internals and code.

Thank you. I'm new to ll of this. I still have a GoPro 3 Black (not the 3+). Just looking at options. I went with the Solo because it was 1) a helluva deal i got for $350 (gimbal and spare battery), and 2) It fit my needs for learning....but it seemed so suspicious that they were in so tight with development with Go Pro, to suddenly just quit, and Voila, the Karma comes out.

So then it'd be a matter of knowing how to make the gimbal talk to the controller to gain pan and tilt remote capability? Would that be only available through the drone app?