FAA waiver in Oregon

Reaction score
I'm in a small town in Oregon, but there's an airport that's either class C or D airspace. There is a tower and commercial service, but under 100 passengers. I have a client wanting some aerials that's inside the 5 mile radius. What's the best way to approach getting permission?

I'm in a small town in Oregon, but there's an airport that's either class C or D airspace. There is a tower and commercial service, but under 100 passengers. I have a client wanting some aerials that's inside the 5 mile radius. What's the best way to approach getting permission?
I'm in OR too and didn't realize how close I am to so many different airfields! I'm a new pilot myself and actually have yet to put my bird in the air, which I'm just waiting on a replacement gimbal plus a couple different upgrade parts show so I can start shooting video and pics. I have an extra mRo ublox neo m8n gaps and a pair of Micro Tik wifi cards also that I can give you better prices on than anywhere else if interested. I'm actually close to Hillsboro myself and am on the hunt for decent places to fly and film, which I plan on doing at the coast as well. From what I've read simply contacting the flight tower and getting clearance to fly is the best route.

Contact ATC at the airport. The FAA website is worthless unless you have months of notice.

If you have your Part 107, I think you can contact the Tower (in advance) to request the operation. Some places are very reasonable to deals with.
This is not the case for commercial operations- you need to apply for a waiver for use of controlled airspace.

Reactions: Wetstone
This is not the case for commercial operations- you need to apply for a waiver for use of controlled airspace.
You do not need a waiver. A waiver is permanent. You need to request permission and be very specific about the operation, time etc.

No, you recieve permission via the waiver.

See "Airspace/Airports", #2 & #3at: