Drifting on land

Reaction score
I only have one 5 minute fight with my 3rd solo so far, but the first time I landed it freaked me out. I was hovering about 20' up and 10' from the RTH location and pressed the button. It started shooting up to the RTH height (100') but only went up about 10 feet before it also hit the RTH location (it didnt shoot straight up as I expected) and started to land. When it was about 5' from the ground it started drifting sideways as it finished the land. It landed 15' from the RTH and I was afraid it was going to flip when it hit ground.

Is this common or preventable? Also, if it happens in the future, what do I do that quickly? There were tall trees surrounding my lawn about 30' away in each direction. Is there a way to force the props off quickly?

I found I could take over manually even after having started a return to home. But I'm new to drones as well...

Im seeing a lot of crash videos on youtube and a lot of times the motors stay running long after crash and probably do more damage. I am curious what to do if I crash to get it to shut off quickly.

Regarding not reaching the full RTL altitude before landing, the Solo uses a system where by the closer you are to the RTL location, the less it'll climb before moving laterally. This is to avoid unnecessarily climbing to the full RTL height only to move laterally a short distance and then having to descend the entire RTL altitude. This is totally normal, you just have to be prepared if you happen to fly behind an obstruction (tree, for example) and trigger an RTL to make sure it'll clear if it only climbs 10 feet or so.