cant get solo past 150ft

Reaction score
Hey, new here and seen ppl with solo can go up to 400ft.. i bought mines 2 days ago and cant get it 150ft. Am i missing something? Yes i knw i am a newbie.. lol. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum Dad!

When you are connected to Solo, go to "settings" in the Solo app then "Solo" settings. There, you will find a setting for max altitude. What is it set on?

Reactions: crazydad
Welcome to the forum Dad!

When you are connected to Solo, go to "settings" in the Solo app then "Solo" settings. There, you will find a setting for max altitude. What is it set on?

It was set to 150ft... didnt even knw i could change that there.. the tutorials 3dr had were a little hazy.. lol.. but now i changed it to 400 even though i think 150ft is good for me for now. Thanks for your help Maddog!!!

Reactions: Maddog
Any other advice or tricks you can give this newbie?
Sure- download & read the operators manual from the 3DR website.

Fly in open areas- don't try to takeoff, land or fly between closely spaced buildings.

If you're new to drone flying, practice a lot in manual mode. If the automation fails, you need to be able to take over and safely control & land Solo. Lots of YouTube videos.

Be aware that when the battery hits 25%, the remaining power drops off much more rapidly than before- time to land. You will probably only get 15 minutes tops with the gimbal.

Read this forum- check out the threads on GPS issues. Sometimes Solo GPS gets "wonky" when flying near trees and buildings- map FLY:MANUAL to your A or B button. If Solo is flying under GPS guidance and gets wonky, you can quickly switch to manual flight and hopefully get control and prevent a crash.

Have fun and post your videos for us to look at!

I'm sure others will add stuff I didn't cover.:D

Reactions: Chuck and crazydad
Awesome thanks!!! Now to figure out how to get to manual mode... lol.. lots of reading to do!! Again thanks!