Building a location app, would you use it?

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm pretty new to this and am building an app that would show where you're flying so that other pilot cans see where to stay away from or be extra vigilant of an area. It could also be used to allow other UAS/drone operators to come and meet up.

Would this be something you would use? If so what would you like in the app?

I'd have weather, wind, KP index, mapping, airspaces, logbook? Do you use that? And obviously location.

Thanks in advance, and if you know of apps that do this please let me know as I have had a look but didn't see much.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: Burkeam
I'd just have the user use the phone gps and just create a ring of half a mile or a mile. It wouldn't track the exact location of the drone just a general area. Although that could be possible but over kill for what's needed.

Thanks for the link Maddog

I am currently trying to figure out how to write a flight log app that will eventually pull logs from solo and allow a user to keep a database of their flights.
Just getting started on a long haul project. Have a github repository set up but I am still working though getting the basic project set up in android studio that has a data layer and table to hold the information. Might be a good month before I get that far. Then I want to try and tie into other APIs like Google Maps, GPS, and possibly even dronekit to grab information for the log.

I am currently trying to figure out how to write a flight log app that will eventually pull logs from solo and allow a user to keep a database of their flights.