Best Settings For Fireworks?

Reaction score
Like many others, I'll be filming the fireworks display they'll be having in my area and I'll be filming with the GoPro HERO3+ Black Edition.

What are the recommended settings? I'm thinking maybe 60fps, low light on, ProTune on, low sharpness. Is it safe to record in 30fps or will that increase the jello effect?

I use: 1080, 30 FPS, medium FOV
Protune- on
WB- 5500K
Color- GoPro
ISO- 6400
Sharpness- medium
EV comp- 0

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I use: 1080, 30 FPS, medium FOV
Protune- on
WB- 5500K
Color- GoPro
ISO- 6400
Sharpness- medium
EV comp- 0

Thanks. Does framerate have any effect at all on jello? My previous gimbal was shaky when I shot it at 30fps. Returned it and got a new one. Shooting at 60fps now it's super smooth. Not sure if it's the framerate or the fact that I got a new gimbal that fixed it.

Also, is your low light mode on or off?

Thanks. Does framerate have any effect at all on jello? My previous gimbal was shaky when I shot it at 30fps. Returned it and got a new one. Shooting at 60fps now it's super smooth. Not sure if it's the framerate or the fact that I got a new gimbal that fixed it.

Also, is your low light mode on or off?
60 FPS will always look smoother, but you may not get enough light.
Low lite mode is off.

How bad is the jello(if any) at 30fps? That's my main concern.
Your shutter speed should be pretty slow in the low light conditions...so 30fps should be ok. But if 60 is available why not use it? In bright light definitely use 60fps.

I shot this with a GP 3 White
1080 @30fps
Easiest fireworks footage I have gotten yet!

1080 @30fps
Very good. I would have added a bit of the fireworks audio. I planned to do the same but we got rain. Maybe next year!!

1080 @30fps
Wow- that was the best aerial footage I've ever seen! (Besides news stations)