Warning to potential new solo pilots! (Pre-Purchase)

Well worded Tony, I'm a private pilot with about 850 hours of flying experience - that didn't help me when solo lost GPS the wind shifted it right into my camper before I could catch it. I think any good drone owner should practice manual flying often, it certainly would've saved me! We get spoiled by all the fully automatic position holding and aren't prepaired to really fly when needed!
Very well said indeed.
The part that worries me most is described in your last sentence.
With a piece of technology like the Solo, I fear that not only aren't people ready to actually fly when needed....
...but rather that many don't know how.

I have to admit I thought being a private pilot would give me an edge flying drones - it absolutely does nothing from the mechanical flying aspect, where it HAS benefitted me is a good understanding of airspace, TFR,s and what flying activities are frowned on by the FAA.
Drone manufacturers MUST get proactive and incorporate programs similar to hover in to there apps or at a minimum make consumers aware of the apps available to consumers before attempting any flight. Solo should add a video to the training series concerning airspace, TFRs and no fly areas, maybe even make viewing the video a pre condition of first flight. Better to police ourselves than have ridiculous restrictions imposed on a entire drone community because of the actions of a few ignorant drone owners!

You should change the title and make it more generic, as what you are saying applied to any beginner, flying any drone. Just saying.

Kmd

Reactions: Planeoldjim
Farout,