Pre flight update pulling my hair out

Reaction score
Hello my friends I'm reaching out for help this evening as I've tried literally everything I know to get my "new" as in just bought 3DR Solo from B&H camera to get airborne.

I opened the box and followed the instructions and first thing I see on the controler is Preflight Update required before first flight! Use 3DR solo app to update..also lights on the drone are solid red back and blueish white front.

This is where everything went bad...I installed the Solo app from 3DR could not connect and did a Google search only to find my only option was to pay a 3 party developer $29...well being a dev myself I don't mind paying for the work done however being the app to connect did not work either...yes I was logged into my solo link while trying to connect via the app so it's not that.

I'd like to if possible bypass this horse crap preflight mess and install open solo 4 however from all the recent reads on the net it seems not possible without updating preflight, but I've had zero luck getting either the Solo or the remote to link up with solex/solo/QGC. This is extremely disheartening at best.

I reached out to the developer of the solex app Kelly and he has not been able to email me a solution I'm hoping this is not a wasted purchase/paperweight.

Any and I do mean any helpful information from the community that can help me get this drone airborne would be greatly appointed at this point I've spend a small fortune on everything I've purchased for this drone along with the cost of the drone. It seems like 3dr gave everyone the finger and the company wasted a 100 million...however if I can get this thing up in the air I'll be able to look passed that lol.

Thanks,
Ardudevguy

Reactions: PatPend
Please describe in detail

1. EXACTLY the problem you are having.

2. What you have tried. Be Specific.

3. What the outcome of each thing you have tried has been. Again, details matter.