Part 107 Announcement

Status
Not open for further replies.
The bill is 624 pages.

Click link to view: http://www.faa.gov/uas/media/RIN_2120-AJ60_Clean_Signed.pdf

• A person operating a small UAS must either hold a remote pilot airman certificate with a small UAS rating or be under
    the direct supervision of a person who does hold a remote
    pilot certificate (remote pilot in command).
My Bottom line take away is this: If you are flying with this certificate your golden. If someone questions you and you have a certificate, they know you are playing by the rules, assuming you are.

Now if someone wants to research and give me a simple step by step on how to get a certificate that would be much appreciated.

Hi ALL
I'm really new to this but have had my drone for about 6 months. Does this new rule means I have to get a license or something ? A certificate?
Seriously? Read it, it's pretty well explained. You take a test, and that test gets you a certificate.

I don't think the test exists yet, so nobody on here knows what that test will contain

Hi ALL
I'm really new to this but have had my drone for about 6 months. Does this new rule means I have to get a license or something ? A certificate?

My understanding, this is for communal use. If you are a hobbies and have registered your drone you are good, just play by the rules.

Last edited:
Here is an interesting tidbit from the bill about cost:

"The FAA has analyzed the benefits and the costs associated with this final rule. The estimated out-of-pocket cost for an individual to become FAA certificated as a remote pilot with a small UAS rating is $150, which is less than the cost of any other airman certification that allows non-recreational operations in the NAS. 4 The final rule will enable a new industry to unfold while imposing relatively low individual costs. "

Hi ALL