Nikon J5 mirrorless camera on 3Dr Solo - ch7 shutter

Reaction score
Website
www.robertpower.com.au
For anyone interested I have finally made up a mount and mounted a small servo on top of my Nikon J5 to activate the shutter using the pause button on the controller. This bird has open solo and I finally soldered another servo wire in and set up ch7, long press to activate shutter and short pause to reset. May not look pretty and I am only new to 3D printing but it works. i was using the invertolometer in the camera to take a photo every 15 seconds, but now having shutter control is much better.

Thanks to Pedals2Paddles for his work on open solo 3, without this I would not be able to achieve shutter control (not available on standard solo software. Total weight of this setup is 1.9kg, flies for 15 minutes returning home with 20% on battery.

mDSC_5608.jpg

mDSC_5610.jpg

3dr_solo_new_mount_1.jpg

Nice.

It looks like you have a seperate servo for pitch? How do you control that servo to tilt down like in the 3rd picture?

Did you connect your mount to the fixed 3DR mount plate?

Did you change the gimbal mount balls or used standard 3DR balls?

Nice.

It looks like you have a seperate servo for pitch? How do you control that servo to tilt down like in the 3rd picture?

Did you connect your mount to the fixed 3DR mount plate?

Did you change the gimbal mount balls or used standard 3DR balls?

Thanks.

The servo is controlled by the tilt button on the back of the controller, the same button as used to tilt the 3DR gimbal.

I pulled the center leg that holds a gopro out of the fixed plate and made a couple of short legs to attachmy mount to.

Standard 3DR balls with a foam earplug in the middle of each ball

Reactions: E M
nicely d0ne
what is the safe shutter speeed for you?

This mount with the servo directly mounted to the lower bracket where the camera sits allows a full 90 degree option, still using ch6 and the gimbal tilt control.