Loving my Solo...and a question

Reaction score
I bought my solo 3 weeks ago after a lot of research and I'm very happy with my decision! This forum helped a lot and has reinforced that choice. I was surprised by the prevalence and intensity of some of the anti-3DR propaganda on some of the "independent" blogs.

As a photographer who is interested in video, the focus on enabling good quality cinematic shots was one of the key features that caught my attention. The open, evolving platform was the other big advantage for me. I'm getting more comfortable letting it get further away from me and trusting it will fly reliably. I'm also a pilot, so I'm considering applying for the 333 exemption for my photography business.

Anyway my question: Does the DJI Phantom 3 pro or 4 offer the same auto camera tilt control that the solo does? In my research, I thought this was one of the features that set the Solo apart - the fact that smart shots controlled the camera angle as well as the aircraft position at the same time, autonomously. I was telling a friend about some of the differences between the Solo and Phantom and wanted to make sure I'm not talking out of turn.

Reactions: Ian [P13]
I purchased my Solo during the first dark days and have flown it consistently since. The firmware had some maturing to do but overall the criticisms were exaggerated and in many cases not true IMO.

I have a P3P and feel it is very good also. Using the DJI Go app my Phantom does not have automated gimbal tilt control. The Phantom has a 3 axis stabilized gimbal like Solo's which includes yaw, pitch and roll dampening. The gimbal pitch on the Phantom is user controlled (manual) when using the DJI Go app.

That being said DJI allows SDK apps to control their products. With these 3rd party apps, like Litchi, Autopilot, Vertical Studio, automated gimbal control is available.