Legal Issues

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post so I do apologize if it is in the wrong area. I have wanted a drone for the longest time now, now I have figured out a way to pay for it and justify purchasing one. Real Estate Photography! The only thing holding me back is the FAA. I know that I have to register the aircraft and file for an exemption, but I have no idea and no legal background to draft up an exemption. Has anyone on here done it, or are familiar with it? I would greatly appreciate any input you may have for me.

You would have to register and file for an Section 333 exemption, and be a register pilot. For now, this will not always be the case.

You would have to register and file for an Section 333 exemption, and be a register pilot. For now, this will not always be the case.
AND you have to be a registered pilot? You say this will not always be the case, what is the time frame on that do you think?

A year to a year and a half.
Cue the eye roll... Leave it up to the government to do that... Haha, then I guess I will have to wait because I can't justify buying one just to play with for a year. We were joking and saying well I could say these are for free but charge a lot more for just a DSLR walk around package. Don't thing that will fly (No Pun Intended).

I have applied for the Section 333 exemption and also want to start a business. The new regulation will take a while, currently next summer is the newest estimate but that will most likely be delayed. There is a bill in the legislature that will implement many of the part of the regulation as a stopgap. The requirement for a pilots license will go away but there will be training and reporting requirements.

My suggestion (and my plan)
File for the exemption ( I have a templet that should work that I can post or send)
Build your experience and qualifications by doing some free photography waiting for the new regs.
See if you can find a local pilot to work with you