IRIS+ PX4 Telemetry Help!

Joined
Mar 13, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
62
Hey guys, new member here...getting back to flying after a couple years.

Went thru the Iris+ on Mission Planner and the accels failed calibration after multiple
attempts, and the bird wouldn't arm. I pulled the PX4 and installed a known good one,
after updating. (Copter V4.1.5)

Telemetry will not work. I have Mavlink connectivity and the remote works with the exception
of telemetry. I'm getting a bit bogged down with all the configuration options. I believe there is
probably a single setting to enable telemetry in Copter. Nothing has been flashed or otherwise
modified regarding the FrSky receiver or telemetry modules...

(As an aside, the original PX4 from the + calibrated fine after upgrading the firmware and bench
testing. Never fails.)

ANY thought appreciated!

John (CharlieKeck screen name) in Vermont.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Youngstown
Search past posts on this site.
It worked for me, as well as receiving valuable assistance from some of the developers (although I can no longer find the thread with my issue that was remedied).
Good luck.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
62
TU ... have done so, nothing so far. I'm hoping the institutional
knowledge regarding 3DR hasn't totally disappeared!
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Youngstown
There is no longer any 3DR technical support - they only do government work now.

Have you checked ArduPilot Discourse ?

P.S.: I found my 'lost' thread. It was on Ardupilot, not 3DRPilots:
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
62
Thanks Frank - that's about the only site I've not gone thru. What a saga - no idea why after
sitting idle for four years the IRIS+ suddenly refused to arm due to accel error(s). I'll keep you
posted...did you ever get your Irsi up?
John
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Youngstown
Thanks Frank - that's about the only site I've not gone thru. What a saga - no idea why after
sitting idle for four years the IRIS+ suddenly refused to arm due to accel error(s). I'll keep you
posted...did you ever get your Irsi up?
John
ArduPilot is the developers' site - I was in error when I stated it was 3DRPilots. Been a long winter...

I still have to tweak / recalibrate the motors - cannot achieve vertical take-off plus I removed the lifeless gimbal.

Good weather is arriving soon!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
62
Well, it flies! Went thru the entire mandatory hardware setup list item by item, and a few of the
pertinent optional things. Took it out and did full compass cal (after removing my old man shirt with magnetic buttons (story related another time)).
Took off on a very gusty morning in Loiter, and with no PID tweaks it did very well in the wind. Still have tuning to do, but, amazing-but-true, the telemetry just worked again without fooling around with the MP setup. Using the original remote that came with the rig. This entire saga began because telemetry initially didn't work at all after the + sat for five years...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1946 J3C-65
Joined
Mar 13, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
62
Well, it flies! Went thru the entire mandatory hardware setup list item by item, and a few of the
pertinent optional things. Took it out and did full compass cal (after removing my old man shirt with magnetic buttons (story related another time)).
Took off on a very gusty morning in Loiter, and with no PID tweaks it did very well in the wind. Still have tuning to do, but, amazing-but-true, the telemetry just worked again without fooling around with the MP setup. Using the original remote that came with the rig. This entire saga began because telemetry initially didn't work at all after the + sat for five years...
Finally a Spring day and got in some flying. As far as I can tell the IRIS+ flies as well as when it was
new. After swapping out the PX4, flashed the new one with Copter V4.1.5, and just did the basic
mandatory setup and calibrations, with no tuning. I am impressed that straight out-of-the-box
generic firmware flew that well. Running essentially the same hardware setup on a DIY 450 quad,
which flies OK, but is major twitchy in hover - that one will require immediate tuning...as well as
telemetry.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
57
Nice work! I am about to activate a custom carbon fiber project with all x8/IRIS 3DR electronics. Still plodding through some teething issues. It is the one that is my avatar now.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
12,961
Messages
146,910
Members
15,570
Latest member
Johnny99