GPS Fix Solo and Questions

Reaction score
Hello-

I'm a complete newbie to drones and super excited to finally have made the plunge.

I just ordered a 3DR Solo and waiting for it to arrive. I understand 3DR is dropping support, etc. but for the price and quality for my first drone, feel like it can't be beat.

I have a couple of question:

I see You Tube videos on the GPS fix. Since my 3DR is new, has 3DR already implemented those fixes? Or is that something I would need to do?

Should I buy range extenders, if so, does anyone have an recommendations?

Lastly, as there seems some confusion, will there be any more software updates provided by 3DR? or are they already completely done? Is there any talk of a 3rd party to continue the development?

Thanks to all,
Quantum

Since Solo is such a bargain I would take those savings and apply them to some basic upgrades.

Get the M8 GPS upgrade along with the proper shield now available. I wouldn't waste my time with the cardboard upgrade.

Get some decent antennas I use the FPVLR's and they perform well for me.

Swap the props out for 11 inch APC props if you can and you will get longer flight times plus quieter operation. Lubricate the motors with the proper oil occasionally and you will notice smoother and quieter operation also.

I have hundreds of flights on my original Solo and I just purchased a second from Best Buy and intend to make the same mods.

Take care of your batteries do not store them at full charge or empty and they will last longer; I had a few go bad after I would charge them and not fly for a few days. Fortunately batteries are inexpensive now so you can buy spares.

Get the M8 GPS upgrade along with the proper shield now available. I wouldn't waste my time with the cardboard upgrade.