First Drone.. Scared to fly far.. help needed

Reaction score
So I am wondering. I just bought the Solo and love it so far. I have only flown it 3 times so far. I got probably 150' altitude and about 300' away from me. I can't really get beyond that since I don't see how to KNOW where the heck it is and what might be in the way.

Any tips or tricks to flying it farther away? What about trees or other buildings? I would love to get some of the footage I see from other people with really amazing over water and showing off my downtown area, but well I have no idea how to tell what might be in the way.

Do you put the Go Pro on Narrow so things are closer to you so you don't get to close. Do you periodically do a stop and pan 360 to see what's around you?

Thanks guys and gals. I am totally new to flying so any tips would be awesome.

Ryan G

I'd keep it line of sight flying at least for now until the bugs that some are having are worked out for sure. Beside that, keep in mind I've not been flying but nearly a year myself, both your ideas seem like good options to help you get used to flying first person. Really I think more of it just comes from practice and experience than anything else. You should be able to get most shots you come across flying line of sight though just be up high enough to avoid obstacles if your having trouble with orientation, that way you can move your stick forward back left or right to figure out which ways which when it's too far to see your LEDs. Then once your sure which ways which you could come down if need be yo get better shots.