Stable video in windy conditions?

Reaction score
Has anyone had luck getting smooth, stable video flying Solo in windy conditions? I have only had my gimbal for a week now and flew yesterday in the strongest winds I have flown in yet. It was maybe 15mph with 20+ gusts. The video was all so shaky it is unusable. Maybe it could be saved with stabilization software but I have never done that before. My gimbal and props are balanced. All flying was in GPS mode to utilize smart shots. I'm sure it would have been smoother drifting in "fly manual" but I really wanted the capability of smart shots. So it just seems that in GPS mode there is a wind threshold above which usable video is not possible. I'm wondering if anyone has experimented enough to know that limit.

Reactions: J R and mballas
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
Yep, I shot this little ditty a couple weeks ago a few days after I installed my gimbal - just for fun I guess.
Wind was 19 mph according to my trusty iPhone with gusts to 22.

Has anyone had luck getting smooth, stable video flying Solo in windy conditions? I have only had my gimbal for a week now and flew yesterday in the strongest winds I have flown in yet. It was maybe 15mph with 20+ gusts. The video was all so shaky it is unusable. Maybe it could be saved with stabilization software but I have never done that before. My gimbal and props are balanced. All flying was in GPS mode to utilize smart shots. I'm sure it would have been smoother drifting in "fly manual" but I really wanted the capability of smart shots. So it just seems that in GPS mode there is a wind threshold above which usable video is not possible. I'm wondering if anyone has experimented enough to know that limit.