Worth Investing In Still?

Reaction score
Hello fellow 3DR owners - wanted to get your opinion on something?

I bought my Solo around 2016ish. I have a GoPro4, GImball, 2 batteries (actually 3 but one is dead), did the GPS mod (I think it was just a plate if I remember) and a bunch of spare propellers. (I picked them up when 3DR pulled out). ANYWAY, it has been sitting in my 3DR backpack and I just pulled it out. Discovered that the iOS app was finally gone, so I installed SidePilot and managed to update my controller and the copter to Open Solo 4.0. Did all the calibrations but haven't flown it yet (not comfortable with the SidePilot app yet). With all of that out of the way, is this worth investing in still? My neighbor was flying his DJI Mavic and I was like DANG - the simplicity was NICE. But I'm also like DANG, I love the fact that my 3DR is American made and is running on a open-source platform.

So, in effort to keep it going, my initial thought is to do the following:

1. Do the PixHawk upgrade, simply so it can use the proper voltage to the motors and get updated auto-pilot (I know the Open Solo 4 code adjusts for pixhawk 2.0 so this is low on the list)
2. Buy a cheap android tablet so I can go with Solex. (It *seems* more polished than SidePilot but I was happy to support the SidePilot author as well)

Is there anything else that is a must in your opinion? I *really wish* the 3DR had collision avoidance. Is this a doable mod that is supported by Open Solo 4.0? My fear is that I will be getting into "trying to bring my drone to 2021 territory" and that is probably not feasible. I'm OK with bringing it up to 2018 territory and maybe just getting a DJI (thinking the FPV because I like speed) to experience where technology is today.

Anyway, just wanted to get some thoughts from the community (as part of my research). Thank you!

Stephen

Last edited: