What are "smart shot" failsafes? How do you avoid them?

Reaction score
Quote from Pedals2Paddles -- "As designed, the Solo uses a smart shot called Return Home or Rewind for failsafes and for when you push the home button. When in these "smart shots", the A & B buttons are disabled and the so are sticks."

I'm new to the Solo - but I can fly a drone manually reasonably well (it's like a 3D ice puck, you have to be on top of it all the time).

I've flown my Solo one time - I was impressed with it's stability (as opposed to my ELEV-8). GPS seemed to work OK - but I'm going to upgrade the GPS and add the new shield anyway - since issues in that system seem to result in unpredictable behavior.

What are the conditions that put it in the 'smart shot' mode? Is it just when you press 'Return Home'? Or is there some other combination of states where the system does it automagically?

I'm planning on upgrading to a Green Cube - but it will be a while - I'd like to fly the Solo in the meantime - but not if there's a significant risk of losing control.

Thank you.

Well, not to make too fine a point - but there were 3 questions.

Quoting further from Pedals2Paddles comments:

"The only thing you are allowed to do is push FLY or Pause. And I think you can use the left stick for camera pointing. You can't change modes or do anything else. This is like 4 different layers of unnecessary complication and unnecessary points of failure for something that is supposed to be a failsafe. If anything goes wrong in any of that complication, you're screwed. On numerous occasions I've had the solo get basically stuck in the air because damn sticks and buttons were disabled. I had to watch it just sit there hovering until the battery died and it crashed. And I'm not the only one. Oh, and there is also a line of code in there that locks out the buttons when the EKF goes bad, which is likely what happened to the OP."