Old Pilot, new drone operator

Reaction score
I'm a private pilot (single engine land, VFR). Never flew a drone before yesterday, and I'm now the proud owner of a (used but mint condition) 3dr solo. I purchased from another drone user and it included the drone, all chargers, controller, spare battery, spare props, and gopro gimbal (but no gopro itself).

I've got some related hobbies; I'm very into circuit design and digital electronics (think old-school like 7400 series logic, amd bit-slice cpu design, etc). I collect, restore, and run vintage computers (I have microcomputers, but most of my collection is very large minicomputers from late sixties to late 70's). I'm a unix developer as well, so I spend a lot of time with C & automake - mostly writing device drivers and kernel code. I'm always tinkering with an arduino or raspberry pi or microcontroller or breadboarding something. I'm a Ham radio guy as well.

I know the 3dr solo is discontinued, I don't care. 3D printers can build a lot today. What struck me about it was that (parts?) of it are open source and there is apparently a pretty big hacker/mod/diy community built up around that particular model. I'm right at home with that and ready to jump in. I'm semi-retired from the IT industry, so I have time for this now!

I'm currently devouring all the manuals and documentation I can find. Now that 3dr is done with the solo, have things like source listings and/or schematics appeared? Where is the best spot for detailed technical info on the solo and the controller?

I have tons of questions, but just one or two to get me in the right direction:

Is the 'latest' firmware still available from 3dr? Where can I get it if not? Is the firmware now community driven?