New owner, have a problem already!

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am Dill from NC in the US!

I bought a USED 3DR Solo locally from a person. When I went to see it in person it flew as expected however one thing I did not notice was the "gimbal protector" that was on the gimbal. When I got home and looked through everything I realized that foam piece needed to be removed. When I removed it and went to fly the gimbal started doing what I have found listed as the "dance of death". I have tried to fix it using mission planner following the youtube video but never did I see any changes happening on the gimbal. I am not sure I was doing it correctly. I did a compass and accelerometer calibration from the Solo app...

Overall I am really beyond stressed out about everything. I should have done more research ahead of time. This was my first drone besides the SYMAs I have been flying for a few years now. I paid $280 for the whole set, two batteries, two sets of props (MAS) and backpack. I now see 3DR was recently selling new stock and refurbished for a great price via the owners group so I feel like I overpaid even if it was all working, then really overpaid since it basically doesnt have a gimbal, atleast the GoPro Hero4 Black seems to work.

Is there no way to fix this? When I hold the gimbal still with my hand I can use the controller to move the camera up and down. Sometimes it does not do the dance but it will drift one way or the other and start doing it again. I see no visible scrapes or bends... I feel really overwhelmed about it all. To make matters worse, on my way home from buying it I went ahead and placed orders for more parts (GPS shield, Extended controller battery, etc...) so I am pretty deep in this drone now. I am trying to find the silver lining and just trying to remember that some of you bought this drone new for over $1000.

I am glad to be here and really want to be a great member!